New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Troll in the Playground

Devil

Default CO2: It’s Got What Plants Crave

So we’re approaching a point in my province - I won’t say which one - where an up-and-coming political leader is a big fan of this old notion: plants need electrolytes carbon dioxide and therefore manmade carbon dioxide is good for plants.

I’m not a climate scientist, biologist or any kind of expert, but common sense tells me that humans are generating more CO2 than the world’s plant life can sustain. Some cursory research turned up an article on a Stanford research project that basically determined the same thing while also noting that increasing temperatures are harmful to plant life.

https://www.theguardian.com/environm...ood-for-plants

Since, as I noted, this is going to be a thing in local politics, I just want to ask a question: is there any newer, better research I should be aware of that refutes the ‘CO2 is plant food’ argument?
    Last edited by Giggling Ghast; 2018-04-04 at 03:10 PM.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground

AssassinGuy

Default Re: CO2: It’s Got What Plants Crave

Quote Originally Posted by Giggling Ghast View Post
    So we’re approaching a point in my province - I won’t say which one - where an up-and-coming political leader is a big fan of this old notion: plants need electrolytes carbon dioxide and therefore manmade carbon dioxide is good for plants.

I’m not a climate scientist, biologist or any kind of scientist, but common sense tells me that humans are generating more CO2 than the world’s plant life can sustain. Some cursory research turned up an article on a Stanford research project that basically determined the same thing while also noting that increasing temperatures are harmful to plant life.

https://www.theguardian.com/environm...ood-for-plants