Page 30 of 32 FirstFirst ... 520212223242526272829303132 LastLast
Results 871 to 900 of 931
  1. - Top - End - #871
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    SolithKnightGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2018

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Dmdork View Post
    Q292 can Sleep spell work on a wraith?
    A292
    No. Sleep doesn't work on undead or creatures that are immune to charm. A wraith is both of those things.

  2. - Top - End - #872
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    E’Tallitnics's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Prime Material Plane

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalebert View Post
    As Galithar just pointed out, The Sleep spell itself specifically says it doesn't work on undead.
    Post deleted.

  3. - Top - End - #873
    Orc in the Playground
     
    OrcBarbarianGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2014

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Q292 sorry but you've confused me. I'll ask again. Does the Sleep spell work on a wraith?

  4. - Top - End - #874
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    SolithKnightGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2018

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Dmdork View Post
    Q292 sorry but you've confused me. I'll ask again. Does the Sleep spell work on a wraith?
    As before, no.
    The sleep spell cannot affect undead or creatures that are immune to being charmed.
    A wraith is undead AND immune to bring charmed.

    A wraith cannot be affected by the sleep spell.
    Last edited by Galithar; 2019-05-14 at 04:54 AM.

  5. - Top - End - #875
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    BardGirl

    Join Date
    Mar 2019

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Can a Kensei monk use the versatile property on a weapon's (assume the 1d8 spear) and make an unarmed strike?

  6. - Top - End - #876
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2005

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by airless_wing View Post
    Can a Kensei monk use the versatile property on a weapon's (assume the 1d8 spear) and make an unarmed strike?
    A293

    Yes. Quarterstaves too.


    Powers &8^]

  7. - Top - End - #877
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Millstone85's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by airless_wing View Post
    Can a Kensei monk use the versatile property on a weapon's (assume the 1d8 spear) and make an unarmed strike?
    Quote Originally Posted by LtPowers View Post
    A293 Yes. Quarterstaves too.
    I would add that:
    • Making an unarmed strike does not require a free hand, as it can be a kick or a head-butt.
    • Switching between holding a weapon with one or two hands shouldn't hurt your action economy anyway.
    • The greatclub and the longbow can be selected as kensei weapons, and henceforth count as monk weapons despite being two-handed. This allows you to take the Attack action with them and make an unarmed strike as a bonus action.

  8. - Top - End - #878
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    OrcBarbarianGirl

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Why am I here?

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Q 294: As a DM, is a Glyph of Warding containing a 9th level spell cleric spell an appropriate form for a Divine Intervention to take? I am unclear if it falls in like with 'the effect of any cleric spell' as suggested by the PHB.
    Quote Originally Posted by Petrocorus View Post
    This thread, Questions that can't be answered... Answered by RAW by No brains, is Epic.
    Quote Originally Posted by illyahr View Post
    That is so stupid it's hilarious.
    Quote Originally Posted by georgie_leech View Post
    ...I've clearly been playing D&D for too long, because that made a demented kind of sense.
    Quote Originally Posted by that_one_kobold View Post
    And this is why I love D&D

  9. - Top - End - #879
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Daemon

    Join Date
    May 2016
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by No brains View Post
    Q 294: As a DM, is a Glyph of Warding containing a 9th level spell cleric spell an appropriate form for a Divine Intervention to take? I am unclear if it falls in like with 'the effect of any cleric spell' as suggested by the PHB.
    A 294 The only rule for Divine Intervention is that you consider it appropriate for the situation and the god in question. Don't read the "effect of any cleric spell" as being restrictive rather than being just suggestive.
    Last edited by PhoenixPhyre; 2019-05-19 at 04:37 PM.
    Dream of Hope: a 5e setting. http://www.admiralbenbo.org
    PhoenixPhyre's Extended Homebrew Signature
    5e Monster Data Sheet--vital statistics for all 693 MM, Volo's, and now MToF monsters: Updated!

  10. - Top - End - #880
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    RedKnightGirl

    Join Date
    Nov 2018

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    This came up in our game tonight: How many mage hands can a single user have on at once? From the description it seems the only limiter is the 1 minute duration, so we figured it was 10 mage hands.

  11. - Top - End - #881
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    E’Tallitnics's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Prime Material Plane

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Makorel View Post
    This came up in our game tonight: How many mage hands can a single user have on at once? From the description it seems the only limiter is the 1 minute duration, so we figured it was 10 mage hands.
    A295: One. From the description, “The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again.”

  12. - Top - End - #882
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    GnomeWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    NE Tennessee
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Q296

    From Dispel Magic: "For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability."

    Does this ability check use your proficiency bonus?
    Emongnome

  13. - Top - End - #883
    Orc in the Playground
     
    DruidGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Utah

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Emongnome777 View Post
    Q296

    From Dispel Magic: "For each spell of 4th level or higher on the target, make an ability check using your spellcasting ability."

    Does this ability check use your proficiency bonus?
    A296

    No, however some class features allow you to add it such as jack of all trades for a bard, or the abjuration wizard ability improved abjuration.
    Last edited by th3g0dc0mp13x; 2019-05-22 at 01:54 PM.

  14. - Top - End - #884
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Koury's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Q297

    Cloud of Daggers deals damage to enemies “when it enters the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there.”

    Just to be clear, if I cast this spell, they take damage right away because their now in the spells area, then they again take damage upon their turn beginning, correct? It triggers twice before they really get to act?

    Does it also double trigger like this when a foe is forced into the area?
    Last edited by Koury; 2019-05-23 at 12:00 PM.
    I will NOT succumb to evil!
    ...Unless she's cute.
    _____________
    Avatar by Miss Nobody

  15. - Top - End - #885
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    E’Tallitnics's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Prime Material Plane

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Koury View Post
    Q297

    Cloud of Daggers deals damage to enemies “when it enters the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there.”

    Just to be clear, if I cast this spell, they take damage right away because their now in the spells area, then they again take damage upon their turn beginning, correct? It triggers twice before they really get to act?

    Does it also double trigger like this when a foe is forced into the area?
    A297: No, they do not take damage when you cast the spell. In that case they've not entered the AoE nor have they started their turn within the AoE. They do take damage if they're forced into the AoE any time after the spell is cast.

    EDIT: Note the wording, "...for the first time on a turn...". That means that if you force them into the AoE, then drag them back out and force them into it again they only take the damage once.
    Last edited by E’Tallitnics; 2019-05-23 at 12:09 PM.

  16. - Top - End - #886
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Koury's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by E’Tallitnics View Post
    A297:
    I guess I’m confused then. Is “entering an area” defined somewhere? How is the spell being dropped on your head different from being forced into it?
    I will NOT succumb to evil!
    ...Unless she's cute.
    _____________
    Avatar by Miss Nobody

  17. - Top - End - #887
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    E’Tallitnics's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Prime Material Plane

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Koury View Post
    I guess I’m confused then. Is “entering an area” defined somewhere? How is the spell being dropped on your head different from being forced into it?
    R297: It’s the difference between entering a house or having the house built around you. The end result is the same, but how you got there is different.

    In game meta it’s there to cut down on spell abuse.

  18. - Top - End - #888
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Koury's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    R297

    So then there is no RAW answer, it seems? I looked at a few other Wall and Cloud spells and they all act slightly differently. The best I can find supporting no initial damage is Wall of Fire specifically includes an initial damage clause. On the other hand, Stinking Cloud only triggers when they start their turn in the area.

    I still believe both readings are valid, RAW. I’m open to more evidence or any actual rules. As far as abuse, do we just mean “20 damage is a lot” or is there something actually abusable enabled by allowing initial damage?
    I will NOT succumb to evil!
    ...Unless she's cute.
    _____________
    Avatar by Miss Nobody

  19. - Top - End - #889
    Troll in the Playground
     
    BlueKnightGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Koury View Post
    R297

    So then there is no RAW answer, it seems? I looked at a few other Wall and Cloud spells and they all act slightly differently. The best I can find supporting no initial damage is Wall of Fire specifically includes an initial damage clause. On the other hand, Stinking Cloud only triggers when they start their turn in the area.

    I still believe both readings are valid, RAW. I’m open to more evidence or any actual rules. As far as abuse, do we just mean “20 damage is a lot” or is there something actually abusable enabled by allowing initial damage?
    For further evidence, Sage Advice has this to say:

    "Our design intent for such spells is this: a creature enters the area of effect when the creature passes into it. Creating the area of effect on the creature or moving it onto the creature doesn't count. If the creature is still in the area at the start of its turn, it is subjected to the area’s effect. [...]

    In summary, a spell like moonbeam affects a creature when the creature passes into the spell’s area of effect and when the creature starts its turn there. You’re essentially creating a hazard on the battlefield.
    "
    Last edited by Man_Over_Game; 2019-05-23 at 02:08 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by KOLE View Post
    MOG, design a darn RPG system. Seriously, the amount of ideas I’ve gleaned from your posts has been valuable. You’re a gem of the community here.
    Quote Originally Posted by Man_Over_Game View Post

    5th Edition Homebrewery

    Prestige Options, changing primary attributes while maintaining balance with default options.
    Adrenaline Surge, fitting Short Rests into combat to fix bosses/Short Rest Classes.
    Pain, using Exhaustion to make tactical martial combatants.
    Fate Sorcery, lucky winner of the 5e D&D Subclass Contest VII!

  20. - Top - End - #890
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    E’Tallitnics's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Prime Material Plane

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Koury View Post
    R297

    So then there is no RAW answer, it seems? I looked at a few other Wall and Cloud spells and they all act slightly differently. The best I can find supporting no initial damage is Wall of Fire specifically includes an initial damage clause. On the other hand, Stinking Cloud only triggers when they start their turn in the area.

    I still believe both readings are valid, RAW. I’m open to more evidence or any actual rules. As far as abuse, do we just mean “20 damage is a lot” or is there something actually abusable enabled by allowing initial damage?
    R297: When talking about spells it's important to remember that they're always an exception to the general rules. The spell description tells you exactly how the spell works. If the spell has any relation to another spell, and/or game feature and/or game mechanic (etc.) it'll tell you how they interact.

    So each spell description is literally the RAW for that spell.

  21. - Top - End - #891
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Koury's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by E’Tallitnics View Post
    So each spell description is literally the RAW for that spell.
    Agreed, and this question mostly centered around “does an AoE appearing on space you occupy count as you “entering” that area?” I believe the RAI is pretty clear.

    That said, I asked in a RAW thread, hoping for clarification. It seems there is none, so I’ve spoken with my players, explained the issue and we came to a solution together (We went with RAI, for what it’s worth).

    I appreciate everyone’s efforts and time here.
    Last edited by Koury; 2019-05-23 at 08:41 PM.
    I will NOT succumb to evil!
    ...Unless she's cute.
    _____________
    Avatar by Miss Nobody

  22. - Top - End - #892
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The Land of Cleves
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    The rules can't define every term used in the rules, because then you'd need to define the terms used in the definitions. At some point, you have to go by what the words ordinarily mean. And "enter" does not ordinarily mean "stay in the same place while something happens there".
    Time travels in divers paces with divers persons.
    As You Like It, III:ii:328

    Chronos's Unalliterative Skillmonkey Guide
    Current Homebrew: Blood Warrior Shadow Rider

  23. - Top - End - #893
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Koury's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tacoma, WA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Chronos View Post
    And "enter" does not ordinarily mean "stay in the same place while something happens there".
    It doesn’t have to mean anything more than normal for the question to be valid. If you are in an empty pool that is magically filled with water, most people would say yes when asked if you entered the water.

    If someone is placed in the AoE through pretty much any other means it would trigger, and excluding on-cast is unintuitive. If you spend half a percent of half a second in the area you take damage at all other times. That’s likely why this very question has been asked enough that the Sage had to clarify the RAI.
    I will NOT succumb to evil!
    ...Unless she's cute.
    _____________
    Avatar by Miss Nobody

  24. - Top - End - #894
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The Land of Cleves
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    They would?
    Time travels in divers paces with divers persons.
    As You Like It, III:ii:328

    Chronos's Unalliterative Skillmonkey Guide
    Current Homebrew: Blood Warrior Shadow Rider

  25. - Top - End - #895
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Dalebert's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Re: Q 297 I respectfully suggest that this topic is probably worthy of its own thread. It's no longer simple RAW.
    If you cast Dispel Magic on my Gust of Wind, does that mean you're disgusting?

    In real estate, they say it's all about location, location, location. In D&D I say it's about action economy, action economy, action economy.

    Crystal Mage -- a homebrewed arcane tradition

  26. - Top - End - #896
    Orc in the Playground
     
    OrcBarbarianGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2014

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Q298. Can True Seeing see through Fog Cloud?

  27. - Top - End - #897
    Orc in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2018

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Dmdork View Post
    Q298. Can True Seeing see through Fog Cloud?
    A298 No. The Monster Manual description of Truesight reads:
    A creature with truesight can, out to a specific range, see in normal and magical darkness, see invisible creatures and objects, automatically detect visual illusions and succeed on saving throws against them, and perceives the original form of a shapechanger or a creature that is transformed by magic. Furthermore, the creature can see into the Ethereal Plane.
    Fog cloud isn't normal or magical darkness, does not make creatures and objects invisible, and is not an illusion: it's a heavily obscured area.

  28. - Top - End - #898
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    E’Tallitnics's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Prime Material Plane

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by Dmdork View Post
    Q298. Can True Seeing see through Fog Cloud?
    R298: Neither the spells description nor the description of Truesight state that they can see through areas that are heavily obscured nor negate the Blinded condition.

    But Blindsight can.
    Last edited by E’Tallitnics; 2019-05-26 at 09:01 AM.

  29. - Top - End - #899
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    DruidGuy

    Join Date
    Nov 2018

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Q299. Is the Mind Flayer’s Mind Blast blocked by total cover? Per the “Areas of Effect” rules in the PHB, it clearly would be blocked if it was a spell, but I cannot find text indicating whether non-spell abilities follow the same rules.

  30. - Top - End - #900
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    HalflingPirate

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Back in the North
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Q300
    If eldrich knights a and b both use weapon bond to bond to the same weapon, which a is currently wielding, can eldrich knight b use a bonus action to teleport it into his hand? I’m mostly curious how this interacts with the portion of the weapon bond feature that prevents A from being disarmed while not incapacitated.
    Quote Originally Posted by No brains View Post
    See, I remember the days of roleplaying before organisms could even see, let alone use see as a metaphor for comprehension. We could barely comprehend that we could comprehend things. Imagining we were something else was a huge leap forward and really passed the time in between absorbing nutrients.

    Biggest play I ever made: "I want to eat something over there." Anticipated the trope of "being able to move" that you see in all stories these days.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •