New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more

Thread: Theory Craft

1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

WolfInSheepsClothing

Lightbulb Theory Craft

I am possibly joining a new group because my work schedule changed and allows me to game at times (yay!) I am new to 5th edition and hail back to the good ol days of To Hit Armor Class 0.

But anyways, I am curious about building a new character and want to lay out progression map. I want to do something that I find odd and out of character for me and play something unusual.
    I am thinking of mixing the Warlock (HexBlade) and Paladin for some crazy good nova damage imho.

But, I am also wondering if a 3 level dip in fighter might be a worthy time investment. I dont really gain any proficiency bonuses, but I do get alot of class features that can be used to bulk up the short rest downfall of a paladin. I think only a 3 level dip in to get a archetype I was thinking EK for diversity of spell options, or maybe Battle Master for some cool looking attacks and such.

Anyone think this is worth it?

Or would I be better suited to doing just the dual class option.
    Progression would be
    Warlock,
    Warlock,
    Fighter,
    Fighter,
    Fighter,
    Paladin +6
    then dip back to warlock i think.

Thoughts of the playground?
    Last edited by UrielVeltrin; 2018-07-03 at 09:13 PM.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Pixie in the Playground

Default Re: Theory Craft

A few things to keep in mind scourge aasimar adds a good chunk of free dmg each round, and invocations like lord of flie's and life drinker also add a solid amount of guaranteed damage.
    if your dm will let you be an oath breaker you can get a little extra damage there as well , I have a character like this that went paladin then broke his oath when he became a warlock(hexblade)

I recommend the paladin levels first so you get heavy armor, if you plan to use medium its not a issue