New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground

GreenSorcererElf

Default Let's build a continent!

I am working on a new world for a game for a mishmash group of people I used to game with and some new people from work. I have some rough geographical ideas and some major plot issues, but I have large portions of the world that, while it would be relevant to have details, are largely empty so far.

The people I know are a wide variety of nerds, and I am not an expert in geology, meteorology, and sociology (I do okay with biology) and thought it might be fun to create a big group project to fill in various holes and try to, as a community, pull together a semi-functional, relatively internally consistent continent.

The basics:
    The continent as a whole is of indeterminate size, other than sufficiently large for all the features. It is currently imagined as something like a reversed Africa, or Australia with the eastern half much wider on the North-South Axis, so roughly a thick rounded carpenter's square. For the sake of easy description I start by thinking of it in three main chunks; a northwest section, a northeast section and a southwest section.

The North and South are divided by a mountain range that continues turns into a rocky cliff along the Southern coast of the Northeastern section.

The entire Southwest is warmer than most of the rest of the continent and is predominantly jungles and savannas. The relative level of civilization is low. Most humanoids are barbarian tribes, with by far the most prevalent being the halflings. However dinosaurs are without a doubt the dominant lifeforms in the area, and the main obstacle to daily life the halfling (and sporadic others) have to contend with to survive. I like the idea of there being wild dinosaur-riding/fighting halfling tribes, I'm not sure why, but it amuses me greatly, as well being a good place for the wilder elves.