New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground

RedWizardGuy

Default OK, Newbie here. I've had the Players Handbook for one whole day...

I have a few questions.

Multi Classing. I like the Warlock/Sorcerer. In the rules it gives a new spells cast list. I get the impression that multi class becomes an amalgam of the two classes.

1) OK, if I take two levels in Warlock and the rest as a sorcerer, does my eldritch blast continue to advance in level (i.e. 2 beams at 5th level)?

2) When I get new spells, can I choose from both spell lists?

3) Is this combo overpowered? I've read several threads where some DMs do not allow multi classing. I am reading some players are able to make a One Punch Man Multiclass characters.

I plan to tie the two classes together by combining a great old one and a gold dragon bloodline.

The great old one was a gold dragon titan who favored high elves. His lineage started eons ago and now rarely shows up in the elves. The dragon-titan tried and failed to attain deity status, and now his moldering corpse lies floating in the astral plane. BUT, He is not dead yet. after aeons of death-like slumber he has awakened - but can only reach out to his kin members of his bloodline. my Half elf hero is one of that blood line, a child of adventurers.

My hero responded to his call, but the blood magic was too great and overpowered the original connection.

Thanks for any response, guys!

2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground

Default Re: OK, Newbie here. I've had the Players Handbook for one whole day...

1. Cantrips advance by total level, not by caster level - so an Elf Fighter 20 still gets some use out of his racial cantrip, for example.

2. No. You get the spells of the class you leveled up in - so as a Warlock 2/Sorcerer X you'll mostly have Sorcerer spells.

3. Nah, not really. It is good, don't get me wrong, but not overpowered.