New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

BlackDragon

Default Starfinder: Doubt about Dwarves

Hello, Forum, its my first time around.
    I have been reading lately the Starfinder RPG book, and generally find it delightful. But I have a couple of dislikes about the setting.
    1) The starsystem is overcrowded and overpopulated. Every piece of chunk flying around the star has a colony and probably more than one new intelligent race. My remedy to this is to create my own setting with only legacy races (+ maybe androids and robots) and to discover other races as part of the exploring of the cosmos.
    But it brought me to my second dislike:
    2) Dwarves as written have the Traditional Enemies and Stonecunning racial traits. The first is +4AC vs Giant and +1 to attack vs goblins and orcs; the second is a perception bonus around stonework.

Interpreting racial traits as biological and cultural traits that sets a race apart, I find these traits not matching a space opera setting. The probability of finding giants, goblins and orcs diminishes as space is filled with new races and monsters; the same goes with stonework there are less ancient dungeons and more derelict ships, abandoned research stations and other futuristics locations.

So I replaced these two traits with:
    Craftsmen: +2 racial bonus on all Engineering or Profession checks to create objects from metal or stone, and can craft them in half the time. It stacks with Master Crafter feat.

But I'm not sure if it is enough or too much or too little. So I would appreciate any inputs about it.
    (P.S. I am not a native English speaker so any typos could have escaped from the autocorrector)
    Last edited by Relonious; 2018-12-11 at 02:44 PM.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Barbarian in the Playground

RangerGuy

Default Re: Starfinder: Doubt about Dwarves