The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed
The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed - Coming in December and available for pre-order now
Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678
Results 211 to 221 of 221
  1. - Top - End - #211
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Seattle
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Kris Moonhand View Post

    Q114: What is the duration on the Pasha of Stone's Guardian's Embrace ability?
    A114: This should have a duration of 1 minute.

    Q115: When champion forms like the Pasha of Stone and the Sultan of Flames say they gain levels in Monk or Barbarian, do they have to take the chained version, or can they go unchained?
    A115: Unchained is perfectly acceptable.

    Q116: Leviathan's and Sultan of Flames' weapon forms are a bit incongruous with previously released Constellation weapons, scaling more like weapon-like veils (being limited to +5 enhancement bonus and having massive amounts of scaling damage), while Thunderbird's works like other Constellation weapons. I'm not sure how to frame my question other than "that seems kind of weird, what's up with that?"
    A116: There's a couple different scaling mechanisms that I use depending on the weapon. Leviathan and Sultan of Flames don't get as many enchants because they get scaling bonus damage, so they have a more basic enhancement structure. Akashic Realms volume 1 also has weapons that grant special abilities alongside that "half scaling", and you'll see it with some veils as well.

    Q117: I got most of the references of the various races, but I seem to be drawing a blank on Wyrmkin. Are they supposed to be a race I would recognize from a certain long-running fantasy series with a decidedly finite name?
    A117: Long story short, they started out as one thing and then kind of evolved into something else during development, and that new thing was so cool we just kept it.

    Q118: Both Wolger and Wyrmkin are quadrupedal. Core rules state that quadrupeds with claws/paws have the following magic item slots: Armor, Belt (saddle), Chest, Eyes, Headband, Neck, Shoulders, Wrist. This means that, besides missing the Hands slot (which you covered by giving them two Feet slots), they would also be missing the Head, Body, and Ring slots (and Weapon, but I would assume that's on purpose). Is that accurate, or do they also have these slots? If they don't, what does that mean for veils shaped in those slots, especially Viziers with their Ring veils?
    A118: The only slot they lack is the Hands slot as detailed in their Quadrupedal ability. Their specific version of Quadrupedal essentially overrides any other rules on the matter.

    Q119: Are we going to get more Convergence feats for the other veil sets?
    A119: That is certainly very likely, though I don't have a specific product to announce at this time.

  2. - Top - End - #212
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    MindFlayer

    Join Date
    Apr 2017

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    Q120
    Akashic Realms Volume 1 has a line saying
    For each additional point of essence bound to this
    feat, treat your class level as 1 higher than it actually is when
    determining the damage dealt by your planar detonation and
    the effects of any level-based convergence abilities which alter
    your planar detonation (such as the number of lines created by
    the Elysium Tier 2 convergence).
    I cannot find an Elysium detonation giving multiple lines under any of the convergences I've found on the wiki or my books.

  3. - Top - End - #213
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    MonkGirl

    Join Date
    Feb 2019

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    They probably meant the Heavens convergence, since that's the only one that mentions the word "line". Of course, it's just a single line that gets longer, not multiple lines. Maybe a cut convergence? Or possibly just a cut mechanic for Heavens?
    The Library of Metzofitz: An up-to-date reference document for all of your Dreamscarred Press needs.

    Pathfinder Caster Spreadsheet: For when you need to check if there's a spontaneous caster Witch or a Charisma-based Alchemist (the answer is yes). Includes Dreamscarred Press manifesters, initiators, and veilweavers. Now with a colorblind version!

  4. - Top - End - #214
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Seattle
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    I have to double-check with Christen, but I think the Elysium convergence and veil set may have been pulled over to another release that hasn't come out yet.

  5. - Top - End - #215
    Troll in the Playground
     
    khadgar567's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    turkey
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Ssalarn View Post
    I have to double-check with Christen, but I think the Elysium convergence and veil set may have been pulled over to another release that hasn't come out yet.
    So akashic realms volume 3 or 4 is in development then.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dark Shadow View Post
    Threads are like cats. They go where they want, and never listen to what you want them to do.


  6. - Top - End - #216
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Jun 2017

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    Reposting for an 'official' answer, as it's been bouncing around the back of my mind and bugging me...

    After doing some more reading, I found something about Kineticists that I had completely forgotten about:

    Quote Originally Posted by Occult Adventures, p.11, Kinetic Blast
    As a standard action, the kineticist can unleash a kinetic blast at a single target up to a range of 30 feet. She must have at least one hand free to aim the blast (or one prehensile appendage, if she doesn’t have hands).
    I'm pretty sure any of the GMs I play with would allow a Wolger character to shoot Kinetic Blasts from their mouth (ala Voltron), but per RAW, Quadrupeds cannot use Kinetic Blast. The confusion is that Wolger's have a Kineticist FCB.

    Q121: Should the specific Quadruped entry used for the Wolger and Wyrmkin have additional wording added for anything that requires a hand (or prehensile appendage) for aiming?

  7. - Top - End - #217
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Seattle
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Bahumut View Post
    Reposting for an 'official' answer, as it's been bouncing around the back of my mind and bugging me...

    After doing some more reading, I found something about Kineticists that I had completely forgotten about:



    I'm pretty sure any of the GMs I play with would allow a Wolger character to shoot Kinetic Blasts from their mouth (ala Voltron), but per RAW, Quadrupeds cannot use Kinetic Blast. The confusion is that Wolger's have a Kineticist FCB.

    Q121: Should the specific Quadruped entry used for the Wolger and Wyrmkin have additional wording added for anything that requires a hand (or prehensile appendage) for aiming?
    A121: Yes. I'll ping Christen about seeing if we can run an update so wolger kineticists are viable (though I might need to review a few things before we finalize new verbiage as I'm not sure to what degree we want e.g. swashbuckler damage bonuses applying to wolger natural attacks).

  8. - Top - End - #218
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Jun 2017

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Ssalarn View Post
    A121: Yes. I'll ping Christen about seeing if we can run an update so wolger kineticists are viable (though I might need to review a few things before we finalize new verbiage as I'm not sure to what degree we want e.g. swashbuckler damage bonuses applying to wolger natural attacks).
    Awesome, thank you! I tried finding other cases where it specifies needing a hand to aim, but couldn't find any; Weirdly enough, once you get past the 'no hands for somatic components' thing, it doesn't actually say you need a hand to aim a spell!

    EDIT: I just checked the Swashbuckler wording, and they were *painfully* specific about their requirement of a 'light or one-handed piercing melee weapon', even including the additional clause for Precise Strike of 'a light or one-handed piercing melee weapon (though not natural weapon attacks), adding her swashbuckler level to the damage dealt'. I'm picturing an exhausted developer, revising the wording for the fourth or fifth time, as someone on the team found *another* way to Precise Strike with an Elven Curved Blade/Elven Branched Spear/Spiked Chain.
    Last edited by Bahumut; 2019-11-14 at 10:23 PM.

  9. - Top - End - #219
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Von Krieger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Rural Minnesota
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    Q 122: Which scaling aspects of the involved classes Does the Crux of Power feat apply to? All of them, some of them, or just the ones that directly refer to caster level/manifester level/binder level or class level?

    If I were an Aegis/Something/Paladin, I'm thinking my Astral Suit wouldn't gain new points (does not reference level with regard to points, but may gain the level up abilities for the Astral Suit types, while the Ascendant or Abberant Aegis natural armor bonus would), but my Smite Evil (does reference level for effect, am not sure if the levels would stack for additional uses) and Lay on Hands (references level/2) would grow stronger.

    I'd think that an Eidolon, Animal Companion, or Familiar gaining power would similarly fall under the "no new abilities" thing, and thus require using the Academy Dual Focus feat.

    Something like Channel Energy (the Cleric version) I'm also not sure about.
    Last edited by Von Krieger; 2019-11-30 at 02:50 PM.

  10. - Top - End - #220
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    NecromancerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2017

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    Quote Originally Posted by Von Krieger View Post
    Q 122: Which scaling aspects of the involved classes Does the Crux of Power feat apply to? All of them, some of them, or just the ones that directly refer to caster level/manifester level/binder level or class level?

    If I were an Aegis/Something/Paladin, I'm thinking my Astral Suit wouldn't gain new points (does not reference level with regard to points, but may gain the level up abilities for the Astral Suit types, while the Ascendant or Abberant Aegis natural armor bonus would), but my Smite Evil (does reference level for effect, am not sure if the levels would stack for additional uses) and Lay on Hands (references level/2) would grow stronger.

    I'd think that an Eidolon, Animal Companion, or Familiar gaining power would similarly fall under the "no new abilities" thing, and thus require using the Academy Dual Focus feat.

    Something like Channel Energy (the Cleric version) I'm also not sure about.
    The intent of the feat was for effective caster level, manifester level, and other level based calculations for power of an existing ability. It is not meant to directly impact companions and the like and Academy Dual focus would be more effective. If using Spheres of Power we recommend that the caster level of a single sphere per other qualifying class be allowed rather than base caster level considering the design of that system. Generally abilities that have class table entries of their own should be excluded for Crux of Power (like Channel's new dice pool etc) and such features should probably be interfaced with feats like Academy Dual Focus.

  11. - Top - End - #221
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    GnomeWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2019

    Default Re: Lost Spheres Publishing FAQ

    Q122. What exactly is the "draconic breath weapon racial trait" referred to in the Dragoon's drake powers list? The only breath weapon racial trait I could find doesn't have level scaling like the power's description implies. Is that information sourced from another Lost Spheres book?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •