Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Conflicting Transmutations

    Howdy folks,

    I have a question:
    What happens when a polymorphed creature (transformed via Animal Shapes) gets targeted by Polymorph. Does the new spell override the old one? Does the creature revert to the Animal Shapes form if his Polymorph form is killed? Does Animal Shapes override it because it's a higher level spell?

    Context:
    An archdruid (desert biome) cast wild shape on some converts (from a barbarian tribe) to change them into giant scorpions, which were sent after the PCs who (unbeknownst to them... though they did scoff when they were informed that the ruins were cursed) were desecrating an ancient place of significance to the local populace to find the entrance to a ruined temple. Polymorph was cast, making one of the scorpions a sloth, and another scorpion, savvy in the ways of shape changing, went over and attacked it. Not sure whether Animal Shapes was still active, I spot ruled that the sloth turned back into a scorpion (last in, first out). Fortunately, the part was so confused when the scorpions turned into angry barbarians on death, they didn't think to question what was going on. I'm looking for any official ruling if it happens again, though.
    D20 Modern Complete HTML SRD
    (Contains D20 Modern (core), Urban Arcana, d20 Future and d20 Modern Menace Manual -> In a fun format)

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    DruidGuy

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Conflicting Transmutations

    So the official word I remember hearing from JC on one of the dragontalk podcasts is

    Spell 1 Animal Shapes
    Spell 2 Polymorph

    At this point spell 1 and 2 are both active (since they are not the same spell). However, polymorph is more recent and therefore currently is taking precedence.
    PC smacks creature knocking them out of Polymorph. Now spell 2 has ended, but spell 1 is still active putting them back into the form from spell 1.
    *NOTE: If I'm evaluating your homebrew, it means that I think there is something interesting and unique about it and it looks like it would be fun. I usually forget to mention that and just go into suggestions and thoughts without saying anything enjoying it.

    Extended Homebrew Post
    Winner of D&D Subclass Contest IV - Pinball Wizard
    Winner of D&D Subclass Contest VI - Bardic College of the Luchador

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Conflicting Transmutations

    Oh cool! Thanks for the information

    All is well from a rules perspective.
    D20 Modern Complete HTML SRD
    (Contains D20 Modern (core), Urban Arcana, d20 Future and d20 Modern Menace Manual -> In a fun format)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •