Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Orc in the Playground
     
    schreier's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2015

    Default Multiclass Initiator question

    Let's say you have a: Barbarian 2 / Ranger 2 / Warblade 1 / Fighter 1 / Swordsage 2 / ...

    As a warblade 1, you have: 3 Maneuvers known, 3 Maneuvers readied ... the maneuvers are from Diamond Mind, Iron Heart, Stone Dragon, Tiger Claw, and White Raven. In this example, you are initiator level 3 warblade - so lets take Disarming Strike (Iron Heart 2), Mountain Hammer (Stone Dragon 2), Wolf Fang Strike (Tiger Claw 1)

    Let's say you take your fighter 1 feat as Martial Study, taking Crusader's Strike

    As a swordsage 2, you have: 7 Maneuvers known, 4 Maneuvers readied ... the maneuvers are from Desert Wind, Diamond Mind, Setting Sun, Shadow Hand, Stone Dragon, and Tiger Claw
    For this example, you were level 4 and 5 initiator, so we'll take: Burning Ember (Desert 1), Moment of the Perfect Mind (Diamond 1), Sudden Leap (Tiger 1), Counter Charge (Setting Sun 1), Mighty Throw (Setting Sun 1), Action Before Thought (Diamond 2), and Flesh Ripper (Tiger 3)

    So both have: Diamond Mind, Stone Dragon, and Tiger Claw
    Swordsage has exclusive access to: Desert Wind, Setting Sun, Shadow Hand
    Warblade has exclusive access to: Iron Hart, White Raven

    Can you only ready the maneuvers you took in that class under that class's maneuvers? Or is it any that you qualify in that class (For example - moment of the perfect mind, taken in swordsage - can you ready that in warblade?). What about the feat Martial Study? Do you have the declare the class under which you learned the maneuver?

    What if you took a prestige class - like Jade Phoenix Mage - do you pick the class you get that maneuver under, or is it either?

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Beholder

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    A Sauna in Hell
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    Quote Originally Posted by schreier View Post
    Can you only ready the maneuvers you took in that class under that class's maneuvers?

    What about the feat Martial Study? Do you have the declare the class under which you learned the maneuver?

    What if you took a prestige class - like Jade Phoenix Mage - do you pick the class you get that maneuver under[...]?
    Yes to all of that.
    Last edited by MisterKaws; 2019-06-24 at 01:54 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by noob View Post
    Honestly the fastest way to make a paladin fall is to cast the grease spell or to trip the paladin.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Venger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    Quote Originally Posted by schreier View Post
    Can you only ready the maneuvers you took in that class under that class's maneuvers?
    Yes
    Or is it any that you qualify in that class (For example - moment of the perfect mind, taken in swordsage - can you ready that in warblade?).
    no
    What about the feat Martial Study? Do you have the declare the class under which you learned the maneuver?
    yes

    What if you took a prestige class - like Jade Phoenix Mage - do you pick the class you get that maneuver under, or is it either?
    you pick a class.
    Last edited by Venger; 2019-06-24 at 02:00 PM.
    fight my brute! it's a lot of fun
    Quote Originally Posted by weckar View Post
    Venger, can you be my full-time memory aid please?
    Iron Chef Medals!
    Amazing Princess Mononoke avatar by Dispozition
    Iron Chef Deep Freeze: Turning Tables on Old Dishes

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2014

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    Maneuvers known can serve as prereqs for another classes maneuvers however. For that instance it doesn't matter where the maneuver comes from to count as a maneuver known: items (generally assumed to be ok but debatable), martial study, or another initiator class.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2018

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    Quote Originally Posted by Efrate View Post
    items (generally assumed to be ok but debatable)
    If you lose the item, you lose the prerequisite, and thus lost the gained ability (the ability to use the ability actually), until you re-qualify.
    Level Point System 5E
    Poker Roll

    Tier 1 Master of All
    Tier 2 Lightning Bruiser
    Tier 3 Lethal Joke Character
    Tier 4 Master of None
    Tier 5 Crippling Overspecialization
    Tier 6 Joke Character

    Epic 4 + Tier #
    E5 for Tier 1
    E6 for Tier 2
    E7 for Tier 3
    E8 for Tier 4
    E9 for Tier 5
    E10 for Tier 6

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Orc in the Playground
     
    schreier's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2015

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    Can you take the same maneuver in multiple classes then? If you have a particular need (moment of perfect mind with a weak will save), it could be worth it since you might not be able too refresh before needing it again. What about through an item? Does the item link to a class like the feat? Can the item provide a maneuver already known in one class up the other?

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Beholder

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    A Sauna in Hell
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    Quote Originally Posted by schreier View Post
    Can you take the same maneuver in multiple classes then? If you have a particular need (moment of perfect mind with a weak will save), it could be worth it since you might not be able too refresh before needing it again. What about through an item? Does the item link to a class like the feat? Can the item provide a maneuver already known in one class up the other?
    You can add Fly as a known spell to your Sorcerer list and then to your Favored One list, then take Shape Soulmeld(Airstep Sandals), then wear Wings of Flying.

    All these while being an Avoran Dragonborn with the Wings aspect.
    Quote Originally Posted by noob View Post
    Honestly the fastest way to make a paladin fall is to cast the grease spell or to trip the paladin.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Crake's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    Quote Originally Posted by HouseRules View Post
    If you lose the item, you lose the prerequisite, and thus lost the gained ability (the ability to use the ability actually), until you re-qualify.
    More often than not, using an item to qualify will then make you self qualify, since a known maneuver counts toward it's own prerequisite. If, however, you trade out other maneuvers that were once used to help qualify, you may enter a situation where you cascade to a point where you can no longer re-qualify, even if you gain the item back.

    Take the following example, say you want Ancient Mountain Hammer, which requires 3 stone dragon maneuvers. So naturally you start with Mountain Hammer, and then you grab Stone Dragon's fury, which requires you know at least 1 maneuver. Then you get Elder Mountain hammer, which requires that you know 2 maneuvers. A this point you have 3 maneuvers, so you trade out mountain hammer for something else, dropping you back down to 2 maneuvers, at which point you realise, damn, I need another stone dragon maneuver to get Ancient Mountain Hammer, so you grab an item that gives you Mountain Avalanche, another maneuver that requires 2 stone dragon maneuvers, and finally manage to snag Ancient Mountain Hammer.

    At this point, you have a maneuver that requires 1 known maneuver, another that requires 2, and a last one that requires 3, plus the item's maneuver. At this point, if you were to lose the item, it would be no big deal, you still qualify for all your maneuvers innately. If however, you were to trade out stone dragon's fury, leaving you with elder and ancient mountain hammer, requiring 2 and 3 maneuvers respectively, plus mountain avalanche in the item, you would be in a very precarious situation. You qualify for everything, but very tenuously. If you were to lose the item, you'd only have 2 maneuvers known, which would make you lose qualification for Ancient Mountain Hammer, and thus you would lose the ability to use that maneuver, and it can no longer be used to qualify for other maneuvers until you can use it again. Now, because you lose Ancient mountain hammer, you only count as having 1 known maneuver, which means now you lose elder mountain hammer too! Leaving you with no stone dragon maneuvers. Furthermore, if you were to recover the item, you no longer qualify for mountain avalanche, as you have no known stone dragon maneuvers, so you're now left with 2 unused maneuvers known, and a useless item!

    Be very careful about using an item as a lynchpin of your pre-requisite chains.
    World of Madius wiki - My personal campaign setting, including my homebrew Optional Gestalt/LA rules.
    The new Quick Vestige List

    Quote Originally Posted by Kazyan View Post
    Playing a wizard the way GitP says wizards should be played requires the equivalent time and effort investment of a university minor. Do you really want to go down this rabbit hole, or are you comfortable with just throwing a souped-up Orb of Fire at the thing?
    Quote Originally Posted by atemu1234 View Post
    Humans are rarely truly irrational, just wrong.

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    OrcBarbarianGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    Quote Originally Posted by schreier View Post
    Can you take the same maneuver in multiple classes then? If you have a particular need (moment of perfect mind with a weak will save), it could be worth it since you might not be able too refresh before needing it again. What about through an item? Does the item link to a class like the feat? Can the item provide a maneuver already known in one class up the other?
    I don't think so. In fact, I think that is the point of the idiot crusader builds (the ones where your avilable maneuvers to know run out so that they are all granted every turn, or something like that). If I am wrong, yes, Moment of Perfect Mind is a great maneuver to take multiple times. See also White Raven Tactics.

    Light the lamp not the rat LIGHT THE LAMP NOT THE RAT!!!

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Orc in the Playground
     
    schreier's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2015

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    I was guessing no as well. .. seems different than spells for two classes, as the maneuvers serve as prereqs for other class maneuvers.

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Venger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    Quote Originally Posted by schreier View Post
    I was guessing no as well. .. seems different than spells for two classes, as the maneuvers serve as prereqs for other class maneuvers.
    Just to be clear, that is how it works. For disciplines you have some of through multiple classes (let's say stone dragon, which all 3 classes can access) when you are looking at prereqs (e.g. "must know 2 stone dragon maneuvers") it's asking about your sum total of known maneuvers from all classes you may have in addition to martial study.
    fight my brute! it's a lot of fun
    Quote Originally Posted by weckar View Post
    Venger, can you be my full-time memory aid please?
    Iron Chef Medals!
    Amazing Princess Mononoke avatar by Dispozition
    Iron Chef Deep Freeze: Turning Tables on Old Dishes

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    OrcBarbarianGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada

    Default Re: Multiclass Initiator question

    I could see it working for prerequisites but also see that you cannot take the exact same maneuver twice or three times or more even if you have two or three base initiator classes and/or took the martial study feat. Basically I would not allow a warblade/swordsage to get two copies of moment of perfect mind. But if there was one diamond mind maneuver known on the swordsage side and another different one on the warblade side then, if high enough level, they could take hearing the air which requires two diamond mind maneuvers as prerequisites.

    Light the lamp not the rat LIGHT THE LAMP NOT THE RAT!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •