New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

Default Character themes for the Order

I'm an amateur musician who is taking a bit of a short-term break from music for health-related reasons, but as I am a huge fan of the OOTS, I wanted to take a stab at what sort of character themes would work for the OOTS.

Depending on how things go, I might end up producing these. Overall music style, I'm thinking old RPGs - maybe FF6 or FF7 styled.
    Here are some quick dumps for individual character themes and leitmotifs.

Given how much the main characters develop between stories, it might be fitting to right a new theme for each main character for each book.

Roy -

I was thinking something with a plodding synth bass - slow, but not overly serious or epic.
    Not sure about what to use for his lead instrument for his "character" theme, but for more epic scenes I'm definitely thinking of bringing in some epic orchestral strings.
    Honestly, I have the least ideas about what to do with him musically.

Haley -
    I want Hayley's themes to feature a violin prominently. The instrument is suited well to slow, sad pieces, as well as faster tunes with more swing - the sort of stuff you might here at a carnival.
    Hayley's main theme, for more lighthearted moments, would be in 3/4, with a strong rhythmic focus rather than anything to melodically complex. This would let me right up a simple, repetitive melodic figure, which I can then elaborate on for her more dramatic pieces.

Elan -
    Boy, sure would be great if there was an instrument already associated with Elan, huh?
    Oh wait...
    Lutes are fun! I think Elans motif would definitely be in a major key, and have some sort of bounce to it.
    I might have it be similar to Halleys in that its in 3/4, but I want it to be cleary distinct - no dark elements at all.