The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed
The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed - Coming in December and available for pre-order now
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Cikomyr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Gender
    Male

    Default Dragon's Breath save dc: Caster or Breather?

    I was wondering if the save dc of the dragon breath spell is based on the Caster 's stat and expertise or the breather?

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Zombie

    Join Date
    Jun 2015

    Default Re: Dragon's Breath save dc: Caster or Breather?

    If it doesn't say otherwise, I'd have it be the caster's stat, since they're the ones actually providing the magic.
    I am the flush of excitement. The blush on the cheek. I am the Rouge!

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Cikomyr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Dragon's Breath save dc: Caster or Breather?

    Okay, thanks.

    Question 2: would the Caster's bonuses to elemental damage (ex, from a Feat) would apply to the spell? Ex: a Tiefling with Flames of Plegetho cast Fire Dragon Breath, does his teammates who got the buff get to reroll the 1s?

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Stranger in the Playground Moderator Ventruenox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Northern Colorado
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Dragon's Breath save dc: Caster or Breather?

    If the tiefling made the actual roll, yes. Otherwise, RAW, no.
    Forum Rules. If you need me to address a thread as a Moderator, please include a link.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Cikomyr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Montreal
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Dragon's Breath save dc: Caster or Breather?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ventruenox View Post
    If the tiefling made the actual roll, yes. Otherwise, RAW, no.
    Who makes the roll then? The cast or the breather? 😅

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Stranger in the Playground Moderator Ventruenox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    Northern Colorado
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Dragon's Breath save dc: Caster or Breather?

    The breather is using their action, but Flames specifies, "When you roll fire damage for a spell you cast", not "when damage is rolled". So if the tiefling is the one rolling the dice, should be legal.

    That said, I would totally allow the re rolls at my table.
    Forum Rules. If you need me to address a thread as a Moderator, please include a link.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •