New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

Imp

Default First Time running Curse of Strahd

Alright everyone, we're coming up to October and what would be better than Curse of Strahd for Halloween-esque campaigning?

Anyways, I've been DMing one shots and short campaigns for a while, but I've never done a module before, so if anyone has tips on that, that would be helpful, but more importantly I'm looking for tips for Curse of Strahd, in order to make it turn out great for my players.

From looking around on youtube and other forums, I've already got a few tips such as doing the Tarroka reading ahead of time that way it can be properly immersive by knowing what the cards mean and not having to flip through the book, and another tip I saw was to make sure Strahd was ever present, that the party knew he is watching and they are his toys.

If anyone has tips on how they ran Curse of Strahd or how they wish their DM ran Curse of Strahd, I would love the feedback. Thanks everyone.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground

DwarfFighterGuy

Default Re: First Time running Curse of Strahd

hehehe well... It's easier said then done. Curse of Strahd was a lot of work but totally, thoroughly worth it. It's a lot easier to help you by answering specific questions than just a broad "help me" question, but here's a tip I found super useful.

There's absolutely nothing wrong with stacking the deck a little. Just remove the cards that correspond to places you aren't a fan of, which in my case was anything castle related or non-thematic. A couple of them are decidedly lamer or easier than the others, so pull those too. That way, the party will have to travel and get the most out of Barovia.