New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

Planetar

Default Crackpot Theory: Fyron's Son is Metaphorical

Hi, title says it all, this is something I thought up randomly, if it contradicts something or sounds stupid, feel free to say so!

So. A lot of people have cited Fyron's Son as Oots' only plothole or contradiction, being that Fyron's Son does not appear when we see Xykon murder him, yet is referred to by Roy when he accuses Xykon of his crimes, and I thiiiiiink when Eugene talks about Xykon to Roy in On the Origin of PCs or Start of Darkness? Both of those copies are at my house and I'm currently studying out-of-state in a dorm in college, so I can't really check.

I think there was one user who was really adamant about this being a contradiction. I think it was either Sunken Valley or David Argall, could be wrong and my apologies to those users if not.

However, I remember recently, about the ten million dwarf souls, how Rich gave a little speech about "Rather than making assumptions that don't fit with the text and then complaining about the text being wrong, why not just choose different assumptions that DO fit with the text?"

And then Durkon's spiel about how Sigdi told him to bury his feelings for Dwarven honor seemed to contradict her character in the flashbacks... until we got to that amazing scene with Vampire Durkon, and a supposed 'contradiction' became an epic conclusion to an arc.

So what if I tried to make an assumption that fits with the text, that creates a legitimate emotional pay off for Fyron's Son?

Here's my take. Fyron never had a son. Eugene is his son. Not biologically, obviously, because Eugene Greenhilt is the son of Horace Greenhilt, but the two were distant. And if we look at the way Eugene lovingly describes his master, it's pretty clear that Fyron was more of a father to him than anyone else.