New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground

Default Really simple webpage - problem with sidebar

Hi.

I have been assigned a task for my college - I study philology - to write a simple website. I thought it easy, because I am also a IT technician (but I am not so good with computers, that's why I have chosen language and literature instead of computing). We have to create a website about our habits related to Internet browsing.

I created a website in pure HTML and CSS, have chosen colors, names of divs etc. You know, regular stuff.

The problem is with my sidebar. I clearly stated in CSS that "height: 100%", however, it ends abruptly in the middle of the website and for no reason known to me.

The code is on Github: https://github.com/SzymonBrycki/EnglishWebpage

I asked on one Polish webforum, but got a really bief, yet complicated response. Something about... calc? I looked it on the WWW3 Schools websites, but could not understand what it was about.

Could someone please explain to me in simple words what I should do to make my sidebar whole-site long?
    LGBTinP 🏳️*🌈, Furry 🐾, European 🇪🇺 & Schizophreniac ♿, possibly a Weirdo 😜
    Fursona by Sirodbcollie from Twitter

Polter.pl RPG editor

My long signature

2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground

ElfRangerGuy

Default Re: Really simple webpage - problem with sidebar

It's been a while since I've done web design, but a quick Google search returned a few results that suggest using "min-height" instead of "height" in your CSS.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

Watch me draw and swear at video games.

3. - Top - End - #3
    Ogre in the Playground

Hm, it still "breaks" in a middle of the page.

Okay, whatever, i put it on the right side and now I am pretending it is what I have always meant :P Or maybe I should put it at the top? :P