New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

d20 Griffon Cohort Questions 3.5

Howdy folks, I am relatively new to D&D, and I'm new to these forums as well, though I've found lots of really helpful resources here while I've been playing. This seems like a great community and a good place to find some guidance, and I hope that y'all will be patient with my ignorance.

I've got a level 13 character, 6 Bard / 2 Fighter / 5 War Chanter, and I'm thinking of taking the Leadership feat to get a really cool griffon cohort. Unfortunately, I'm finding the rules about how monstrous cohorts work a bit confusing. So, my leadership score would be 19, so I could have a 13th level cohort, but the max is two levels lower than me, so 11. I get that.

However, a griffon has a level adjustment of +3, and as I understand it, level adjustment is that figure plus their HD, which for a griffon is 7. So, that would mean that it would start at ECL of 10, right? Which means it could only take one character level. Yet, running a griffon in such a fashion through the really cool monster advancer I found results in a fellow with a CR of only 7, which seems rather low, as I thought CR was supposed to be roughly equivalent to ECL.

I also found a chart from a bestiary which indicated that a griffon would start at 8 instead. (forgive the lack of reference, but apparently I can't post links yet)

So, I'm a bit confused about how this works and what resources I should be using. Would any of y'all be so kind as to provide me with some guidance?

2. - Top - End - #2
    Colossus in the Playground

Default Re: Griffon Cohort Questions 3.5

By RAW, you add LA, RHD, and Class Levels to get your ECL.

However, since ECL is supposed to be equal CR, this leads to really, really weird scenarios, like a Vampire (LA+8) being supposed to wreck a Vampire (CR+2) as a PC, even if the PC and Monster are identical.