The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed
The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed - Coming in December and available for pre-order now
Page 21 of 21 FirstFirst ... 1112131415161718192021
Results 601 to 619 of 619

Thread: Rules Questions

  1. - Top - End - #601
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    PirateCaptain

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    good question. I'd like to know the official answer to that too.

    I've been playing that you keep the xp for only the monster you directly kill, but they all drop treasure.

  2. - Top - End - #602
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Nevermind. I was referred to it here.

    Turns out no exp is awarded for either the exploding monster or the monsters it slay in the process.

    A little embarrassing I missed that since I have that sheet at home. I guess I glazed over it. Ah well.

  3. - Top - End - #603
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    PirateCaptain

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    OK, you don't get the xp, but what about the loot?

  4. - Top - End - #604
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Lord Torath's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Sharangar's Revenge
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Yes, the loot drops as normal.
    Warhammer 40,000 Campaign Skirmish Game: Warpstrike
    My Spelljammer stuff (including an orbit tracker), 2E AD&D spreadsheet, and Vault of the Drow maps are available in my Dropbox. Feel free to use or not use it as you see fit!
    Thri-Kreen Ranger/Psionicist by me, based off of Rich's A Monster for Every Season

  5. - Top - End - #605
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Duck999's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    In Hammer Space
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Do boosted shticks count twice? For example, if you have 2 sneak attacks, do you get the plus 2 attack and plus 1 defense from one, or do you get it from both, for 4 and 2?
    Avatar made by Cuthalion| Other avatars.
    Spoiler: Quotes
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by TFT on quicktopic
    Oh no, Duck999 is a mason.

    How can I possibly suspect you of being a wolf now? :(

    :P
    Quote Originally Posted by Legato Endless View Post
    Duck: Mason. A really shifty mason, but a confirmed role nonetheless.

    Slii: Slii is town. He looks better than Duck even with that mason claim.


  6. - Top - End - #606
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    BardGuy

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    A state of constant worry

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Duck999 View Post
    Do boosted shticks count twice? For example, if you have 2 sneak attacks, do you get the plus 2 attack and plus 1 defense from one, or do you get it from both, for 4 and 2?
    No, you only get the Boost bonus from Shticks beyond the first one. So, if you have two copies, the Shtick is boosted once. If you have three copies, it is boosted twice.

    I hope that this clarifies the situation.
    "Chess, like love, like music, has the power to make men happy." --Siegbert Tarrasch

  7. - Top - End - #607
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Planetar

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Copenhagen
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Can you use a screw this card which says can be played at any time to boost a schtick that was flipped earlier that same turn? Specifically, playing Get Angry to remove the wound from Halfing Rage?

  8. - Top - End - #608
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Duck999's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    In Hammer Space
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Caesar View Post
    Can you use a screw this card which says can be played at any time to boost a schtick that was flipped earlier that same turn? Specifically, playing Get Angry to remove the wound from Halfing Rage?
    First of all, I do not believe you can boost flipped schticks.
    Secondly, even if you could, it would not do anyhing because the schtick was already used. The boost happens when the schtick is activated.
    Avatar made by Cuthalion| Other avatars.
    Spoiler: Quotes
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by TFT on quicktopic
    Oh no, Duck999 is a mason.

    How can I possibly suspect you of being a wolf now? :(

    :P
    Quote Originally Posted by Legato Endless View Post
    Duck: Mason. A really shifty mason, but a confirmed role nonetheless.

    Slii: Slii is town. He looks better than Duck even with that mason claim.


  9. - Top - End - #609
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2014

    Default Re: Rules Questions


    Hi all, I'm sorry if this has been asked or is self evident. If a card has a boost ability say foe loses +1 wound if they are a player, then does this boost apply even if the player playing it loses or draws or do they have to win the battle to have the boost applied? Thank you for any help.

  10. - Top - End - #610
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Lord Torath's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Sharangar's Revenge
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    They have to win in order for the extra wound boost to be in effect. I'm not certain if that situation is explicitly addressed, but since you only inflict wounds if you win, I think it's a logical conclusion.
    Warhammer 40,000 Campaign Skirmish Game: Warpstrike
    My Spelljammer stuff (including an orbit tracker), 2E AD&D spreadsheet, and Vault of the Drow maps are available in my Dropbox. Feel free to use or not use it as you see fit!
    Thri-Kreen Ranger/Psionicist by me, based off of Rich's A Monster for Every Season

  11. - Top - End - #611
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    this is not a rule question, merely a flavor text question, but this still seems the right place for it.

    In the "goblin pride day" card, the goblin is uttering the slogan "we're mean, we're green, and we must be seen". every time i see the card, i feel that it must be a twist on a real, real-world slogan, except i have no idea what such a slogan could be. can someone enlighten me?
    In memory of Evisceratus: he dreamed of a better world, but he lacked the class levels to make the dream come true.

    Ridiculous monsters you won't take seriously even as they disembowel you

    my take on the highly skilled professional: the specialized expert

  12. - Top - End - #612
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    littlebum2002's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by King of Nowere View Post
    this is not a rule question, merely a flavor text question, but this still seems the right place for it.

    In the "goblin pride day" card, the goblin is uttering the slogan "we're mean, we're green, and we must be seen". every time i see the card, i feel that it must be a twist on a real, real-world slogan, except i have no idea what such a slogan could be. can someone enlighten me?
    The only one I can think of is the widely parodied "We're Here! We're Queer! Get used to it!"'

  13. - Top - End - #613
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    HalflingRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Oct 2015

    confused Re: Rules Questions

    I was wondering: is the Seldom-Used Quarterstaff supposed to have a -2 to attack? Doesn't that make it useless?
    Spoiler
    Show
    I Am A: Lawful Good Human Paladin/Cleric (3rd/2nd Level)
    Ability Scores:
    Strength-12
    Dexterity-14
    Constitution-13
    Intelligence-16
    Wisdom-14<
    Charisma-12


    Also, I like . And https://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g...pstghfz6jv.png.

  14. - Top - End - #614
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Kalamazoo, MI

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Belksworth View Post
    I was wondering: is the Seldom-Used Quarterstaff supposed to have a -2 to attack? Doesn't that make it useless?
    It is use-impaired, not useless.

    It is intended to be a backup for V since most other combat shticks are flipped after use. Since you can't win a battle without a shtick (a winning roll only gets you a draw), the quarterstaff lets you have a chance of defeating the enemy, but at a penalty.

  15. - Top - End - #615
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2015

    Default Rules Questions

    Hello all,
    I have two questions :

    1 What really happens when a Chronicler fails his Inspire roll for helping another character?

    2 It is written in rules that a Heal roll can me made for healing a broken Character, making recovering a number of attribute points equal to the number of succes rolled. But can this Heal skill also be used for healing a non-broken Character? Can we Heal someone before he is broken?

    Thank you in advance for your answers.
    SW fan

  16. - Top - End - #616
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Lord Torath's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Sharangar's Revenge
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by TESffaa1 View Post
    Hello all,
    I have two questions :

    1 What really happens when a Chronicler fails his Inspire roll for helping another character?

    2 It is written in rules that a Heal roll can me made for healing a broken Character, making recovering a number of attribute points equal to the number of succes rolled. But can this Heal skill also be used for healing a non-broken Character? Can we Heal someone before he is broken?

    Thank you in advance for your answers.
    Just to clarify, this thread is for Rules Questions about the Order of the Stick Adventure Game. There are (to my knowledge) no Chroniclers in this game, and the only attributes characters can lose are wounds. Are you in the right forum? You probably want the Roleplaying forum, and probably the D&D 3.x, D&D 4e, or D&D 5e sub-forum (as appropriate).
    Warhammer 40,000 Campaign Skirmish Game: Warpstrike
    My Spelljammer stuff (including an orbit tracker), 2E AD&D spreadsheet, and Vault of the Drow maps are available in my Dropbox. Feel free to use or not use it as you see fit!
    Thri-Kreen Ranger/Psionicist by me, based off of Rich's A Monster for Every Season

  17. - Top - End - #617
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    May 2018

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    If Belkar has only one copy of Halfling Rage, can he flip it for the bonus, then use a Screw This! card to unflip it (A Good Laugh would work), then unflip it again all in the same battle, for a total of +6 to Attack or Defense? Thanks.

  18. - Top - End - #618
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Lord Torath's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Sharangar's Revenge
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Ayek View Post
    If Belkar has only one copy of Halfling Rage, can he flip it for the bonus, then use a Screw This! card to unflip it (A Good Laugh would work), then unflip it again all in the same battle, for a total of +6 to Attack or Defense? Thanks.
    Hmmm. I would say no. I'd say you can't use any shtick more than once per die roll, regardless of whether it gets flipped or not. Multiple copies of shticks use their normal rules for stacking, of course.
    Last edited by Lord Torath; 2018-05-25 at 02:56 PM.
    Warhammer 40,000 Campaign Skirmish Game: Warpstrike
    My Spelljammer stuff (including an orbit tracker), 2E AD&D spreadsheet, and Vault of the Drow maps are available in my Dropbox. Feel free to use or not use it as you see fit!
    Thri-Kreen Ranger/Psionicist by me, based off of Rich's A Monster for Every Season

  19. - Top - End - #619
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Hello there.
    I apologize in advance if there are answers to my following questions hidden somewhere into this thread, but reading all pages would be unapproachably time-consuming to me. I'm also referring to the Deluxe edition of the game.

    1) Is Elan's Poorely-planned illusion intended to be so OP? Granted I happened to be very lucky when playing as Elan, since I managed to get all three copies of them during the early game AND the shticks that also lets you wound an enemy instead of moving it (can't remember the name right now), it seemed a little too much: counting boosts from other Elan's cards and loots, PPI had a base defense/offense value of 14-16! In comparison V's Fireball, whilst killing a lot of enemies in one go, never reaches such high grounds (it caps at an attack value of 5, if I'm not mistaken).
    Were we playing it wrong? Was the boost nerfed? Do generic boosts to attack and defence (Dorukan's necklace, Bard song cards flipped through Lute, and the like) not apply, do monsters get to throw a die? It's a lot to unpack, I know, but PPI left me and my friends that much baffled.

    2) We also noticed that some shticks, while having boost options, come in only one copy (Belkar' Sexy shoeless god of war is an example). This makes them virtually un-boostable, doesn't it? Were they meant to be boosted via Screw this! cards only? Or did we lose some?

    Thank you for your patience.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •