Page 11 of 21 FirstFirst ... 234567891011121314151617181920 ... LastLast
Results 301 to 330 of 604

Thread: Rules Questions

  1. - Top - End - #301
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    North Dallas,TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    well, yes it would kick in, though I don't think the goblin teenagers have the range to use outsmart back on V, since monsters without enough range to reach you can not use there offensive abilities to counter you. So normally, if the monster has enough range it would work, but I believe goblin teenagers have no range so it would not...I think
    Last edited by Kumquat; 2007-04-02 at 12:55 PM.
    "Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer

    I'm whitey, and I appologize!

  2. - Top - End - #302
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Enaloindir's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Belgium, Europe

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    The monster's range doesn't matter until you figure out the results of the battle. Hence, the outsmart ability kicks in, whether you attack it from range 0, 1, or 42. :)

    Enaloindir


  3. - Top - End - #303
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    North Dallas,TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Corrected! (like bam or biff in the old batman shows, only without me getting beaten up)
    "Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer

    I'm whitey, and I appologize!

  4. - Top - End - #304
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Thanks for the answer guys. I still want to read through the archive here, but I had another question. If Belkar has two Halfling Rage shticks out, can he use both in a single battle? If so, does he lose 0, 1, or 2 wounds?

  5. - Top - End - #305
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    North Dallas,TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    he can indeed use both, and would only take one damage. In essence it would go like this:

    1)Belkar flips the first rage, gains +3 on attack or defence, and this rage is supported by the second copy, so he does not take a wound at the end of the turn.
    2)Belkar then flips the second rage, gains another +3 on attack or defence and as he has no additional schticks to support this one, he takes the wound at the end of the turn.

    (ooooh, colours )
    "Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer

    I'm whitey, and I appologize!

  6. - Top - End - #306
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I'm sure this has been posted, or is just common knowledge, but there seems to be an arguement between our group whether or not you can use the same Shtick (such as Elan's Rapier) more than once in a single Battle Stack.

    In other words, I use the rapier to fend off a kobold, and then use the same rapier shtick to fend off a ogre underneath him.

    The argument has come up over the phrase "Select a new battle shtick" when describing proceeding past the first opponent.

    Thanks for the help.
    Believer of Smashdor

    "You and all those other mental wimps deserve to die, isn't that right, MISTER THREE-FOURTEEN"
    ~Mortimer McMire

  7. - Top - End - #307
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Enaloindir's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Belgium, Europe

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Yes, you can use they same Shtick over and over again (until you face a monster resistant to the Shtick of course).

    Enaloindir


  8. - Top - End - #308
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Question Re: Rules Questions

    I bought the game recently and I'm loving it.

    I'd just like to ask for the ruling for ranged attacks against creatures with bloodlust to be reiterated. I've pretty much read every post in this thread and it kinda seems like there was a little bit of conflicting advice given with regards to this.

    I'd like to know, specifically, which of the following is true:

    1a) If monsters don't have enough range to reach ranged attackers, they do indeed "draw" instead of "win". (Therefore, any victory that doesn't have some kind of effect listed is considered a draw.)

    1b) Range just prevents the "win" from doing damage. It doesn't become a draw, it's still a damageless win. (Therefore, unless it specifically uses the word draw in some ruling (as to shtickless fighting or a shtick that draws), it just doesn't do any damage. Monsters don't "fight shtickless" as they have no shticks, just stats.)

    2a) A "draw" here turns into a "win" via bloodlust, causing damage in spite of the range. (So when the attack equals the defense, it is a draw and bloodlust turns it into a win causing damage.)

    2b) A "draw" here turns into a "win" via bloodlust, but doesn't cause damage due to the range. (So when the attack equals the defense, it is a draw which is turned into a win, but the range prevents the win from causing damage.)


    Hope to hear from ya soon,
    Theli

  9. - Top - End - #309
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Theli View Post
    1a) If monsters don't have enough range to reach ranged attackers, they do indeed "draw" instead of "win". (Therefore, any victory that doesn't have some kind of effect listed is considered a draw.)
    Right.

    Quote Originally Posted by Theli View Post
    2a) A "draw" here turns into a "win" via bloodlust, causing damage in spite of the range. (So when the attack equals the defense, it is a draw and bloodlust turns it into a win causing damage.)

    2b) A "draw" here turns into a "win" via bloodlust, but doesn't cause damage due to the range. (So when the attack equals the defense, it is a draw which is turned into a win, but the range prevents the win from causing damage.)
    Page 18 of the rules has an example showing V taking damage from a creature with Bloodlust at range.
    Last edited by apegamer; 2007-04-06 at 08:01 AM.
    Owner of APE Games.

  10. - Top - End - #310
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Thanks for the quick response.

    So there's nothing to fear from range-less bloodlust... Cool.

  11. - Top - End - #311
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I have not yet played, but I have a quick question.

    The "Screw This!" card "Solo Challenge" it says:

    "If the player already requested assistance, that request is canceled and the offered Loot is kept."

    My question is, kept by whom? The player who is battling or the player who was offered the Loot?

    I'm guessing that because loot is technically not given until after the battle that it means the player who is battling keeps the Loot, but I am unsure.

    If it means the other way then holding the card until after loot is offered would be a good way to really mess with the player.

    -One Wolf
    Entropy Rules!!

  12. - Top - End - #312
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I have a few questions:

    What happens if I equip enough loot to enter xykon's lair, then unequip it? I figure that I can stay in the lair, but if I leave, I have to re-equip myself before entering again. This matters because I might need to trade one of the loot I had equipped for assistance once I'm in the lair.

    Also, I think this has been asked before but I couldn't find where, if I ask Elan for assistance with 3 Sorceror's Fruit Pies (1 Elan face), and he has one Bard Song, how much of a bonus do I recieve? +7 (6 for loot and +1 for the song) or +9 (6 for the loot and +3 for the song for each loot)

  13. - Top - End - #313
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Enaloindir's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Belgium, Europe

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by One_Wolf View Post
    My question is, kept by whom? The player who is battling or the player who was offered the Loot?

    I'm guessing that because loot is technically not given until after the battle that it means the player who is battling keeps the Loot, but I am unsure.
    For the same reason (i.e., loot isn't given until after combat), I would say the battling player keeps the loot.


    Quote Originally Posted by nosajtpno View Post
    What happens if I equip enough loot to enter xykon's lair, then unequip it? I figure that I can stay in the lair, but if I leave, I have to re-equip myself before entering again.
    This would seem to be correct. The only place I can find in the rules where equiped loot is checked, is upon entering Xykon's lair. Nothing in the rulebook seems to imply you must leave the lair if you no longer meet the loot requirement.
    Of course, it might be nice for the more PvP-oriented characters to be able to force other characters out of the lair.

    Quote Originally Posted by nosajtpno View Post
    [...] if I ask Elan for assistance with 3 Sorceror's Fruit Pies (1 Elan face), and he has one Bard Song, how much of a bonus do I recieve? +7 (6 for loot and +1 for the song) or +9 (6 for the loot and +3 for the song for each loot)
    I seem to remember the Bard Song bonus applies only once for each combat, not once for each loot card. So, you would get the +7 bonus.
    If you're into D&D, think of the bard song bonus as a morale bonus to your attack or defense score...multiple instances of the same bonus won't stack...


    Enaloindir


  14. - Top - End - #314
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    North Dallas,TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    for support purposes:
    -Yes you can stay in the layer after losing loot, as stated by the fourth bullet under "Loot and Schtick Requirements" on page 27.
    -The bard song question was indeed asked (by me as a matter of fact) and the answer, which Enaloindir has correct, can be found in the FAQ or page 6 of this thread

    As I randomly skim the rules I find the example on page 18 which states that even at a range bloodlust still wins from the snakedragons, and The Thing With The Eyes gets to injure V at a range even though it was a draw originally. I assume this is a special situation for ranged bloodlust because of the area of effect stuff.
    Last edited by Kumquat; 2007-04-06 at 01:23 AM.
    "Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer

    I'm whitey, and I appologize!

  15. - Top - End - #315
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Kumquat View Post
    As I randomly skim the rules I find the example on page 18 which states that even at a range bloodlust still wins from the snakedragons, and The Thing With The Eyes gets to injure V at a range even though it was a draw originally. I assume this is a special situation for ranged bloodlust because of the area of effect stuff.
    I've edited my answer below accordingly.
    Owner of APE Games.

  16. - Top - End - #316
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I could be wrong, but I took that example to be the reason why the "monsters" (plural) won the battle instead of a draw.

    Because Dragon Snakes was the monster card which had the higher defense value that card is used to determine the outcome.

    "Bloodlust" caused the otherwise draw to be a win.

    But the damage came from That thing with the Eyes, causing 1 wound because it has sufficient range. (The example says the monsters win, but only list V as losing "1 wound".) Dragon Snakes did not cause any damage.

    I believed that the wound would not have been taken if Dragon Snakes did not have the Bloodlust ability, because although That thing with the Eyes has sufficient range it was not used to determine the outcome.

    Am I totally off base? (Note: I still have not played yet, just read the rules to death. Going to play Saturday, and want to get it right)

    -One Wolf
    Entropy Rules!!

  17. - Top - End - #317
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Yeah. It was "That thing with the Eyes" that caused the damage in that instance. And that monster doesn't have bloodlust.

    This brings up another question. If you do a ranged attack with an AOE and it affects multiple defenders, all of which have range to counter...if you fail to win then do you take a wound from each monster with range to hit you?


    - Theli

  18. - Top - End - #318
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    North Dallas,TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    ok, lets see if I can do this...

    -If you attack at a range you can only be hurt or negatively affected by a monster with enough range to target you back.
    -Bloodlust does not negatively affect you, it just changes the win/lose condition, and so has infinite range.
    -Thus if a monster in a group has bloodlust and something else has range, then the battle can be won using bloodlust so the other monsters can affect you.

    as per the 9th bullet under "Area Effect Schticks" (page 18) "if you lose...lose 1 wound (not 1 wound per targeted monster)"
    Last edited by Kumquat; 2007-04-06 at 02:40 PM.
    "Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer

    I'm whitey, and I appologize!

  19. - Top - End - #319
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    About the Emergency Exit room: It states that the stairs can not be used when fleeing the dungeon. I understand they can't be used when you've taken 4 wounds, but can they be used when the dungeon is collapsing? One of my roommates thinks that that also counts as "fleeing the dungeon".

  20. - Top - End - #320
    Orc in the Playground
     
    SKarious's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Question Re: Rules Questions

    here are some questions:
    1) Can I decide on my turn I want to "stay": not moving, but not resting? if so, how many loot can I pick up?

    2) Can I search for stairs after I lose a battle? (assuming I don't flee)

    3) Durkon moves into Xykon's Lair and faces Xykon himself, and a lot of other undeads. Can Durkon successfully Turn Undead, and after that continue attacking/defending against the weakened Xykon with his other shticks?

  21. - Top - End - #321
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    North Dallas,TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I can answer that!

    1) yes, you can stay without resting, but you can only pick up one loot for the turn as picking up loot beyond the first is a bonus for something else always and you can only pick up loot at the begining or end of your turn, not both.

    2) In the page 9 side bar about searching for the stairs it says that you can attempt to find stairs in any room where there are no monsters, so if you lose a battle to monsters then there will still be monsters in the room and so you may not search for stairs. If, however, you lose a PVP battle in a room with no monsters, then yes, you may search for the stairs assuming that the battle did not immediately end your turn.

    3) Yes, Durkon can turn the undead from under Xykon. However, a little searching has me finding that on page five of this thread it was said that when Haley Swiped something it did not remove the top monster from the stack, so she could not continue to battle. I assume this would also work the same way with turn undead, though I can't find it spelled out specifically anywhere. So I would say no, you can not continue to beat up Xykon after rekilling his undead from under him.
    "Never knock on Death's door: ring the bell and run away! Death really hates that!" -Matt Frewer

    I'm whitey, and I appologize!

  22. - Top - End - #322
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    GnomePirate

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Appalachian Mountains

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    This also applies to dealing with Xykon. Can you use Elanís Poorly Planned Illusion to move in a low-power support stealer into Xykonís room to reduce Xykonís defense and then follow up with more Area Effect shticks to either weed out Xykonís supporters or to take Xykon himself out?
    Actually, Xykon always floats to the top of the stack, so that would not be an issue anyway.
    Aratos Tell
    HP:53/53 AC:19,FlatFooted:16,Touch:13
    Active Effects: Speak w/Animals
    Spells Prepared: Cure Minor Wounds*4, Flare, Calm Animals, Charm Animal, Cure Light Wounds, Animal Messenger, Flaming Sphere, Lesser Restoration, Hold Animal, Cure Mod. Wounds*2, Speak w/Plants

    Megiddo
    HP:26/26 PP: 40/40 AC:14,FlatFooted:13,Touch:13
    Active Effects:
    Spells Prepared: Light*2, Burning Hands*2, Protection f/Evil, Magic Missile, Shocking Grasp, See Invis., Acid Arrow, Scorching Ray*2

  23. - Top - End - #323
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Totally Guy's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    England
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Kumquat View Post
    3) Yes, Durkon can turn the undead from under Xykon. However, a little searching has me finding that on page five of this thread it was said that when Haley Swiped something it did not remove the top monster from the stack, so she could not continue to battle. I assume this would also work the same way with turn undead, though I can't find it spelled out specifically anywhere. So I would say no, you can not continue to beat up Xykon after rekilling his undead from under him.
    I agree with you but for a different reason. The Turn Undead card is an area effect shtick so by the last point on page 18 the combat stops after the shtick is resolved.

    I know that you can target all the undead under Xykon with that trick however it still feels wrong. I can't see the logic that allows the thing with eyes (that has enchanted) to act as the defence score for the monsters (against a fireball if it has the highest defence) whilst Xykon's ability to avoid be turned doesn't allow Xykon (as an undead) to represent the monsters.
    Attempting to say controversial things that everyone will agree with.

  24. - Top - End - #324
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    MindFlayer

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    michgan
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    what's the point of having a monster with high defense!!?!?!? you just attack it! on nthe other hand you HAVE 2 defend the first turn so there's a point in monsters with high attack. really

  25. - Top - End - #325
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    Melange's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Something about Haley has been bugging me.... Her Longbow and Sneak Attack seem backwards. Her Longbow increases her defense and range, and her sneak attack increases her Attack at range 0. This seems counter intuitive, since you cannot make ranged defenses (unless against the Surprise Screw This card), and you really don't want to attack from melee with Haley, the whole point of her is attacking from range...

    I was figuring what should happen is Longbow boost increases attack +2 and Range while Sneak attack boosts defense by +1 (since they still end up with +5/+5 at the end).

    This just seems to make more sense considering how her moves are used and how she is expected to be played...
    Sneak
    010000010110110001101100001000000101100101101
    111011101010111001000100000010000100110000101
    110011011001010010000001000001011100100110010
    100100000010000100110010101101100011011110110
    111001100111001000000101010001101111001000000
    100110101100101

  26. - Top - End - #326
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by squidly_bard View Post
    what's the point of having a monster with high defense!!?!?!? you just attack it! on nthe other hand you HAVE 2 defend the first turn so there's a point in monsters with high attack. really
    You're question is a bit hard to understand: but what the hell. On your first battle you have to defend, but on subsequent ones you can choose to attack or defend. In this case its a matter of balancing your attack/defense stats against its attack/defense stats...

    so the point of having monsters with high defense is so that players might choose to defend against it during a battle, if that player had a weak attack score.

  27. - Top - End - #327
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    Melange's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by irlpotato View Post
    so the point of having monsters with high defense is so that players might choose to defend against it during a battle, if that player had a weak attack score.


    Fortunately monsters with obscenly high defense tend to also have hide... Also the other reason they have high defense is that if you just had combat and lost, then when you start your next turn you decide to try and kill it again, now you HAVE to attack since you are battling before moving.
    Sneak
    010000010110110001101100001000000101100101101
    111011101010111001000100000010000100110000101
    110011011001010010000001000001011100100110010
    100100000010000100110010101101100011011110110
    111001100111001000000101010001101111001000000
    100110101100101

  28. - Top - End - #328
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    GnomePirate

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Appalachian Mountains

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Something about Haley has been bugging me.... Her Longbow and Sneak Attack seem backwards. Her Longbow increases her defense and range, and her sneak attack increases her Attack at range 0. This seems counter intuitive, since you cannot make ranged defenses (unless against the Surprise Screw This card), and you really don't want to attack from melee with Haley, the whole point of her is attacking from range...

    I was figuring what should happen is Longbow boost increases attack +2 and Range while Sneak attack boosts defense by +1 (since they still end up with +5/+5 at the end).

    This just seems to make more sense considering how her moves are used and how she is expected to be played...
    I don't see what you mean. I don't see attacking at range as Haley's strategy, except to steal loot from palyers while they rest. I've found that she is pretty much Roy's equal for the first fight of a stack. Roy of course gets stronger for each monster he defeats, but Haley still pretty much wins.

    I played a Roy vs. Haley game Friday and the end result was that Haley had more of ROY's loot than Roy did. Roy couldn't even get to Xykon's lair.

    Not to mention that thematically Sneak Attack ought to be, you know, an attack. I kinda wonder why you get any defense bonus from sneak attack at all, since defending implies the other guy is attacking (and would thus have inititiative).
    Aratos Tell
    HP:53/53 AC:19,FlatFooted:16,Touch:13
    Active Effects: Speak w/Animals
    Spells Prepared: Cure Minor Wounds*4, Flare, Calm Animals, Charm Animal, Cure Light Wounds, Animal Messenger, Flaming Sphere, Lesser Restoration, Hold Animal, Cure Mod. Wounds*2, Speak w/Plants

    Megiddo
    HP:26/26 PP: 40/40 AC:14,FlatFooted:13,Touch:13
    Active Effects:
    Spells Prepared: Light*2, Burning Hands*2, Protection f/Evil, Magic Missile, Shocking Grasp, See Invis., Acid Arrow, Scorching Ray*2

  29. - Top - End - #329
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    Melange's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Toronto, ON
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Skjaldbakka View Post
    I don't see what you mean. I don't see attacking at range as Haley's strategy, except to steal loot from palyers while they rest. I've found that she is pretty much Roy's equal for the first fight of a stack. Roy of course gets stronger for each monster he defeats, but Haley still pretty much wins.
    Haley has a bow, and even in the instructions it talks about her major advantage being that she can attack from range. Unfortunately the longbow boost seems to think otherwise.

    Quote Originally Posted by Skjaldbakka View Post
    Not to mention that thematically Sneak Attack ought to be, you know, an attack. I kinda wonder why you get any defense bonus from sneak attack at all, since defending implies the other guy is attacking (and would thus have inititiative).
    I the defense bonus being that she stole initiative from the enemy (ie the comic with Trigak... it tries to surprise her, elan, and belkar, but she steal initiative and sneak-attacks.... twice....). I think that sort of action works hand-in-hand with defense stat, not attack stat.
    Sneak
    010000010110110001101100001000000101100101101
    111011101010111001000100000010000100110000101
    110011011001010010000001000001011100100110010
    100100000010000100110010101101100011011110110
    111001100111001000000101010001101111001000000
    100110101100101

  30. - Top - End - #330
    Orc in the Playground
     
    SKarious's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Skjaldbakka View Post
    I don't see what you mean. I don't see attacking at range as Haley's strategy, except to steal loot from palyers while they rest.
    You can't steal loot with a ranged attack, you have to be at range 0.

    also, a question: can I play "Surprise!" on myself?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •