The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed
The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed - Coming in December and available for pre-order now
Page 14 of 21 FirstFirst ... 456789101112131415161718192021 LastLast
Results 391 to 420 of 619

Thread: Rules Questions

  1. - Top - End - #391
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Gender
    Male

    Default Roy Shtick questions

    Fearless Leader shtick -

    You may not refuse any request from Order of the Stick players for assistance. You may flip this card voluntarily at any time to cancel all of its effects
    So, which sentence has precedence? The "you may not refuse" or the "you may flip ... at any time"? Let's say Belkar asks Roy for assistance in a battle. Roy can not refuse, right? Or can Roy say - nahhh, I'm still ticked off at Belkar for the last two times he double-crossed V (man, Roy can carry a grudge against me - and for something that didn't even involve him!) - so Roy doesn't want to help Belkar, so Roy decides to voluntarily flip his Fearless Leader shtick card now, so that Roy can refuse to assist Belkar. I think Roy is not following the shtick because the shtick says "you may not refuse". Roy thinks it's fine to refuse to help Belkar since Roy can flip his shtick "at any time".

    Does Roy have to assist Belkar? Or can Roy decide to hold a grudge and refuse to help Belkar by flipping his Fearless Leader shtick whenever Belkar asks for assistance?

    Creative Motivation shtick -

    Can you use this shtick multiple times to get multiple assist bonuses from one player in the same battle? From multiple players in the same battle?

    Can you use this shtick to get help from an NPC player? Maybe only if you're discarding loot that only other NPC players and/or yourself drool over?

    Heck - assuming both Belkar and Durkon are playing - can Roy discard loot that Belkar drools over in order for Roy to get assistance from Durkon? It seems wrong for Roy to be able to discard loot that another player drools over (that's why this sort of loot can not be offered to an NPC), but if Roy can't discard loot that other players drool over, then this shtick seems pretty worthless.

    You may discard one card from your Loot Stash ... in order to ask ... for assistance ...
    What if Roy discards one loot card, asks Belkar for help, and Belkar says "Fight your own fight meat shield - you didn't help me - I ain't helping you." Does Roy still lose the one loot Roy discarded? Or does Roy get the loot back because Belkar refused to help? I think Roy loses the loot card even though Belkar refused to assist. The card says Roy discards the loot in order to ask for assistance. The card didn't promise whether the answer would be yes or no when Roy asks.

    Meat Shield shtick

    Whenever you would suffer a Wound as a result of battle, you may flip this card to prevent the Wound. You still suffer any other results, if there are any, ...
    What if the battle would cause Roy to suffer two or more Wounds? Does flipping this shtick only save Roy from one Wound or from all Wounds in that battle? I think it's one Wound since the card talks about "a Wound" and "the Wound". I think the additional Wounds are "other results", but I know I could be wrong (and I may be a bit prejudiced against Roy because he wouldn't help Belkar *and* he had the gall to attack Belkar on the way out of our dungeon when it was collapsing...).
    Last edited by Tremas; 2007-07-19 at 12:50 AM.

  2. - Top - End - #392
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    donkyhotay's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    FEARLESS LEADER: Events happen in the order they are stated so once someone requests roy for help he MUST help them. He can flip it over but he was already asked and therefore can not refuse to help. Now if someone is thinking about asking roy for help and he turns it over before they actually ask then he is safe.

    MEAT SHIELD: It only prevents the one wound. The extra wounds are considered part of the "extra effects". This is true for the other characters' variations on preventing wounds as well.
    Last edited by donkyhotay; 2007-07-19 at 05:13 PM.
    Do not be afraid to joust a giant just because some people insist on believing in windmills.
    FOSS Moonbase Commander remake @ http://code.google.com/p/tether

  3. - Top - End - #393
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    HalflingRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I dont understand the fireball at all.

    Do you attack each monster in turn? e.g. perform a normal attack vs each of them, that is throwing a dice and see if it beats its defence? So for instance if you can attack 4 monsters, you throw 4 attack dices.

    or do you perform ONE attack vs all of them, e.g. throw the attack dice one time and check vs each of the monsters defence to see if they die.

    And do the monsters defend back, if they have a range > 0 ?


    Another question; The rules dosn't explain what happens to discarded cards, nor what happens when you dont have any more battledeck or loot cards to draw. We have assumed its suffle the discarded piles, and use those.

  4. - Top - End - #394
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Mar 2005

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    More questions about Area Effect Shticks...

    Can you Defend against multiple monsters with Turn Undead or Poorly-Planned Illusion? The only other AES (so far), Fireball, has N/A for Defense, but those two have a value. Turn Undead is actually better in Defense than Attack.

    Also, I know you can't keep fighting after you use an AES, even at Range 0. But can you use 'regular' shticks to kill the top monster(s) in a stack, one at a time, and then 'finish off' the stack with an AES?

  5. - Top - End - #395
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    donkyhotay's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Since PPI (poorly planned illusion) and turn undead have defense stats they can be used to defend with. Fireball on the other hand can not be used defensively. I personally don't like the rules on AoE spells but here is what the rules say. When you use an AoE spell you first determine which monsters will be hit with it by finding how many monsters can be hit by it and then counting down from the top of the deck. Monsters immune to the attack (such as being enchanted) are still technically targeted this way. Find the monster with the highest defense value (if your attacking) or highest attack value (if your defending) and roll against this monster. If you win then it and all other targeted monsters are affected (unless immune at which point nothing happens). If you lose against the strongest monster then you lose entirely and the AoE does nothing (even if that roll theoretically would have killed something else). Per the rules once an AoE shtick has been used you may not battle additional monsters. There is nothing preventing you from battling some monsters first before using the AoE. This actually is a good way to use elan in a large battle. Kill a monster or two, use PPI to clear the others out of the room and then pick up the loot the first monsters dropped. Even though the monsters don't die, using PPI counts as "clearing the room" so you get to pick up two loot (this use of PPI is mentioned in the FAQ).
    http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9675
    If an AoE schtick fails and a monster has sufficient range to hit the person that used the AoE then yes they do "counterattack" and that person loses 1 wound per targeted monster with sufficient range. If the player is out of range or hits the monsters successfully this is irrelevant.
    Last edited by donkyhotay; 2007-07-21 at 09:46 PM.
    Do not be afraid to joust a giant just because some people insist on believing in windmills.
    FOSS Moonbase Commander remake @ http://code.google.com/p/tether

  6. - Top - End - #396
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by donkyhotay View Post
    If an AoE schtick fails and a monster has sufficient range to hit the person that used the AoE then yes they do "counterattack" and that person loses 1 wound per targeted monster with sufficient range. If the player is out of range or hits the monsters successfully this is irrelevant.
    I don't believe this is correct. My understanding is that you only take damage if at least one target has range to hit you, and then if they have other effects then they apply. You then just take one wound unless there is a deadly effect involved.

    Of course, that begs the question about what happens if one of the targets you attack from range has hide... Do all the monsters then hide even if another one with range normally doesn't?

    Hope the expansion helps clear up this nonsense. :p

  7. - Top - End - #397
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    donkyhotay's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Thank you for correcting me Thelis, I was partially wrong. If a monster has sufficient range to reach you only take 1 wound, not 1 wound per monster (this is stated specifically in the rules). However, all monsters with special abilities (such as deadly, spellcaster, thief) that have sufficient range apply those. So you CAN take more then 1 wound but only if the monsters have the deadly ability. Rules also state that these stack so for example if you fight 2 monsters, both with sufficient range and both having deadly you would take 3 wounds. 1 for normally losing, and then 1 for each 'deadly' ability the monsters have. Likewise it is possible to be double-paralyzed and miss multiple turns as well.
    Do not be afraid to joust a giant just because some people insist on believing in windmills.
    FOSS Moonbase Commander remake @ http://code.google.com/p/tether

  8. - Top - End - #398
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I have one extremely basic question, and it's one I can't for the life of me find in the rules (I may have flipped through the book too many times so everything's become hazy...)

    I enter a room, and a fight starts. The monster attacks...
    now there's 3 options:
    1. I defend successfully, defeat the monster, and can choose whether to fight the next one.
    2. it's a draw.
    3. I lose, and can't do anything else.

    The question on everyone's minds (at least those of my friends and me) is, in which circumstances (if ever) can I just walk out of that room? (This one's really important to us, as we've often found ourselves fighting unbeatable monsters)
    If I win, can I move past that room into the next unexplored one, or back into a previously explored one?
    If I draw, can I withdraw, or do I have to fight the monster again?
    If I lose, what happens next? Can I retreat? Flee?

    next question: In yesterday's game, the first room we entered on the 3rd floor was "employee exit", which immediately opens a new room, and as we played the shortest game, that was Xykon's floor. What happens if a player gets defeated down there? How does he get out, if he can't flee through the exit?

  9. - Top - End - #399
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Mravac Kid View Post
    I have one extremely basic question, and it's one I can't for the life of me find in the rules (I may have flipped through the book too many times so everything's become hazy...)

    I enter a room, and a fight starts. The monster attacks...
    now there's 3 options:
    1. I defend successfully, defeat the monster, and can choose whether to fight the next one.
    2. it's a draw.
    3. I lose, and can't do anything else.

    The question on everyone's minds (at least those of my friends and me) is, in which circumstances (if ever) can I just walk out of that room? (This one's really important to us, as we've often found ourselves fighting unbeatable monsters)
    If I win, can I move past that room into the next unexplored one, or back into a previously explored one?
    If I draw, can I withdraw, or do I have to fight the monster again?
    If I lose, what happens next? Can I retreat? Flee?

    next question: In yesterday's game, the first room we entered on the 3rd floor was "employee exit", which immediately opens a new room, and as we played the shortest game, that was Xykon's floor. What happens if a player gets defeated down there? How does he get out, if he can't flee through the exit?
    I'll help you there:
    Monsters only appear when you open a new unexplored room, or when you stop in an empty room. (room without other monsters and/or players. loot is allowed).
    In both cases, your movement ends for this turn. You can't move after defending/attacking.

    During your movement, you can pass rooms with monsters and you don't have to fight them. (unless someone plays "failed spot check" on you, then you stop and fight). When you open a new room, you have to stop and fight.

    About "emergency exit" - you can use it to escape while the dungeon is collapsing, check the FAQ here.
    But this room could never be in Xykon's lair: even on the shortest game the lair is on level 4, and the lair is made up from those special nifty black "Xykon's Lair" cards. (Check the "game setup" and "endgame" sections on how to prepare the lair).

    Hope that helped.

  10. - Top - End - #400
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by SKarious View Post
    I'll help you there:
    Monsters only appear when you open a new unexplored room, or when you stop in an empty room. (room without other monsters and/or players. loot is allowed).
    In both cases, your movement ends for this turn. You can't move after defending/attacking.

    During your movement, you can pass rooms with monsters and you don't have to fight them. (unless someone plays "failed spot check" on you, then you stop and fight). When you open a new room, you have to stop and fight.
    I know that, but what about when I'm already in a fight? Example: I'm on the second floor, fighting a Black Dragon and a Goblin. The Dragon kicks my butt, thanks to his attack I can't even approach, and my turn ends. On the next turn, do I have to fight the Dragon again (only to get my butt kicked again, and so on until I get killed and have to run back to the entrance), or can I move away and leave the two in the room?

    About "emergency exit" - you can use it to escape while the dungeon is collapsing, check the FAQ here.
    But this room could never be in Xykon's lair: even on the shortest game the lair is on level 4, and the lair is made up from those special nifty black "Xykon's Lair" cards. (Check the "game setup" and "endgame" sections on how to prepare the lair).

    Hope that helped.
    I misspoke in that sentence. Actually, the "employee exit" turned up on the 3rd floor, and the description says it has a ladder going down (which would mean to Xykon's floor). So how does that work?
    And while we're at it: there can be only one found staircase, and there's the "employee exit", and I read in this thread there's another card giving a staircase. So there can be 3 staircases on the same floor? What happens if it's the last floor before Xykon?

  11. - Top - End - #401
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Mravac Kid View Post
    I know that, but what about when I'm already in a fight? Example: I'm on the second floor, fighting a Black Dragon and a Goblin. The Dragon kicks my butt, thanks to his attack I can't even approach, and my turn ends. On the next turn, do I have to fight the Dragon again (only to get my butt kicked again, and so on until I get killed and have to run back to the entrance), or can I move away and leave the two in the room?
    Yes, on your next turn you can exit the room and explore another. You don't have to fight the dragon again.


    I misspoke in that sentence. Actually, the "employee exit" turned up on the 3rd floor, and the description says it has a ladder going down (which would mean to Xykon's floor). So how does that work?
    And while we're at it: there can be only one found staircase, and there's the "employee exit", and I read in this thread there's another card giving a staircase. So there can be 3 staircases on the same floor? What happens if it's the last floor before Xykon?
    There's a section in the FAQ about multiple staircases. Says it's rare but possible. You can descend both staircases and get 2 sub-level which may or may not connect. There is still an overall "room limit" for the floor - if you run out of your pre-set Lair cards, you don't get any more.

  12. - Top - End - #402
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Thanks, that helps a lot.

    I remembered another question: If I get help from other players for the top monster and win, then decide to fight the next one, does the help still stay, or do I have to ask again?

  13. - Top - End - #403
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Mravac Kid View Post
    If I get help from other players for the top monster and win, then decide to fight the next one, does the help still stay, or do I have to ask again?
    The help does not stay - you must ask anew for each battle.
    Owner of APE Games.

  14. - Top - End - #404
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Argentina
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    If some one plays the Screw This card that breaks a weapon shtick on the Greenhilt sword, then roy would not be able to benefit from the great cleave shtick rigth...that shtick only works with the green hilt sword?

  15. - Top - End - #405
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    donkyhotay's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Yes, great cleave only works on the greenhilt sword.
    Do not be afraid to joust a giant just because some people insist on believing in windmills.
    FOSS Moonbase Commander remake @ http://code.google.com/p/tether

  16. - Top - End - #406
    Giant in the Playground Administrator
     
    The Giant's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Roy Shtick questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Tremas View Post
    Fearless Leader shtick -

    So, which sentence has precedence? The "you may not refuse" or the "you may flip ... at any time"? Let's say Belkar asks Roy for assistance in a battle. Roy can not refuse, right? Or can Roy say - nahhh, I'm still ticked off at Belkar for the last two times he double-crossed V (man, Roy can carry a grudge against me - and for something that didn't even involve him!) - so Roy doesn't want to help Belkar, so Roy decides to voluntarily flip his Fearless Leader shtick card now, so that Roy can refuse to assist Belkar. I think Roy is not following the shtick because the shtick says "you may not refuse". Roy thinks it's fine to refuse to help Belkar since Roy can flip his shtick "at any time".

    Does Roy have to assist Belkar? Or can Roy decide to hold a grudge and refuse to help Belkar by flipping his Fearless Leader shtick whenever Belkar asks for assistance?
    Roy is correct. Because he may flip the card at any time, he may even flip it between the time he is asked to assist and the time that he gives his answer. Once the card is flipped, the text regarding not being allowed to refuse is no longer in play, and Roy can do what he wants. The "penalty" here is that now Roy must rest before he can regain the benefit of Fearless Leader--and Roy is not a character who needs to rest very often.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tremas View Post
    Creative Motivation shtick -

    Can you use this shtick multiple times to get multiple assist bonuses from one player in the same battle?
    No; one Loot card per player, and only a flat +2 bonus is gained.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tremas View Post
    From multiple players in the same battle?
    Yes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tremas View Post
    Can you use this shtick to get help from an NPC player? Maybe only if you're discarding loot that only other NPC players and/or yourself drool over?
    No. As per the FAQ, an NPC can't make the decision to accept or not accept anything but the "standard contract" for Loot: "Player gives Loot with Drool Factor X, NPC gives +2X bonus." Anything that deviates from that can't be used with an NPC unless specifically stated so on the card text.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tremas View Post
    Heck - assuming both Belkar and Durkon are playing - can Roy discard loot that Belkar drools over in order for Roy to get assistance from Durkon?
    Yes.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tremas View Post
    It seems wrong for Roy to be able to discard loot that another player drools over (that's why this sort of loot can not be offered to an NPC), but if Roy can't discard loot that other players drool over, then this shtick seems pretty worthless.
    It is fairly powerful, but remember this: If Durkon refuses, Roy has lost that Loot for no gain. In the "standard contract", if the player refuses, the player battling keeps the Loot, no harm, no foul. So Roy is opening himself up to Durkon partly screwing him by refusing. If Roy takes to constantly discarding other people's Loot, he's going to end up with no one accepting his offers anymore, and soon he won't have much of a Loot stash.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tremas View Post
    What if Roy discards one loot card, asks Belkar for help, and Belkar says "Fight your own fight meat shield - you didn't help me - I ain't helping you." Does Roy still lose the one loot Roy discarded? Or does Roy get the loot back because Belkar refused to help? I think Roy loses the loot card even though Belkar refused to assist. The card says Roy discards the loot in order to ask for assistance. The card didn't promise whether the answer would be yes or no when Roy asks.
    Yes, Roy loses the card for no benefit.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tremas View Post
    Meat Shield shtick

    What if the battle would cause Roy to suffer two or more Wounds? Does flipping this shtick only save Roy from one Wound or from all Wounds in that battle? I think it's one Wound since the card talks about "a Wound" and "the Wound". I think the additional Wounds are "other results", but I know I could be wrong (and I may be a bit prejudiced against Roy because he wouldn't help Belkar *and* he had the gall to attack Belkar on the way out of our dungeon when it was collapsing...).
    Meat Shield (and cards like it) protect only against the first Wound suffered. Extra Wounds are, indeed, considered an "other result" in this case.

    Quote Originally Posted by Hebelio View Post
    If some one plays the Screw This card that breaks a weapon shtick on the Greenhilt sword, then roy would not be able to benefit from the great cleave shtick rigth...that shtick only works with the green hilt sword?
    Correct. Great Cleavage only works with the Greenhilt Sword shtick, so that anythign that denies Roy the usage of the Greenhilt Sword makes Great Cleavage useless. Ignore that! I didn't go and read the Great Cleavage card!

    Actual answer: Incorrect. Great Cleavage is NOT like Sneak Attack or Leaping Attack: it does not specify any single Battle Shtick that must be used in order to gain the bonus. If the Greenhilt Sword gets broken, you are free to whip out the Bag of Tricks or your bare hands and keep going.
    Rich Burlew


    Utterly Dwarfed, the sixth compilation of The Order of the Stick, coming in December! Pre-order at Ookoodook (paper copies) or Gumroad (digital PDFs). (Also the 2020 OOTS Calendar!)

  17. - Top - End - #407
    Giant in the Playground Administrator
     
    The Giant's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Mravac Kid View Post
    I have one extremely basic question, and it's one I can't for the life of me find in the rules (I may have flipped through the book too many times so everything's become hazy...)

    I enter a room, and a fight starts. The monster attacks...
    now there's 3 options:
    1. I defend successfully, defeat the monster, and can choose whether to fight the next one.
    2. it's a draw.
    3. I lose, and can't do anything else.

    The question on everyone's minds (at least those of my friends and me) is, in which circumstances (if ever) can I just walk out of that room? (This one's really important to us, as we've often found ourselves fighting unbeatable monsters)
    All of them. The only things that would keep you in that room would be a special effect, such as if the monster that beat you had the Paralyze ability (and even then, you would just lose a turn, not fight the monster again).

    Quote Originally Posted by Mravac Kid View Post
    If I win, can I move past that room into the next unexplored one, or back into a previously explored one?
    If I draw, can I withdraw, or do I have to fight the monster again?
    If I lose, what happens next? Can I retreat? Flee?
    In all three instances, you may move from that room to any other room on either side, explored or unexplored, unless the room text or some other effect specifically prevents it. Winning or losing a battle does not impede your movement ability in any way.

    Quote Originally Posted by Mravac Kid View Post
    next question: In yesterday's game, the first room we entered on the 3rd floor was "employee exit", which immediately opens a new room, and as we played the shortest game, that was Xykon's floor. What happens if a player gets defeated down there? How does he get out, if he can't flee through the exit?
    Employee Exit creates a set of stairs; these stairs persist for the rest of the game (until the dungeon collapses, at least). Once the Employee Exit stairs go onto the board, however, no one can search for additional stairs while on the 3rd floor, because you are not allowed to search for stairs if there is already a set of stairs leading down--regardless of how those stairs came to be there.

    So, to answer your question, he can indeed flee through the stairs created by Employee Exit should he be defeated in Xykon's Lair, as with any other set of stairs.

    Also, note that simply because the stairs to Xykon's Lair are created does NOT mean that a player is automatically allowed to use them; each player must still have the required number of Shticks and Loot to enter the lair.
    Rich Burlew


    Utterly Dwarfed, the sixth compilation of The Order of the Stick, coming in December! Pre-order at Ookoodook (paper copies) or Gumroad (digital PDFs). (Also the 2020 OOTS Calendar!)

  18. - Top - End - #408
    Giant in the Playground Administrator
     
    The Giant's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Ragnar Iceblood View Post
    I dont understand the fireball at all.

    Do you attack each monster in turn? e.g. perform a normal attack vs each of them, that is throwing a dice and see if it beats its defence? So for instance if you can attack 4 monsters, you throw 4 attack dices.

    or do you perform ONE attack vs all of them, e.g. throw the attack dice one time and check vs each of the monsters defence to see if they die.
    Neither. You perform one attack roll, and compare it to the highest Defense value that you targeted. If you beat that, you defeat ALL the Monsters targeted. If you don't beat that, you don't defeat anyone.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ragnar Iceblood View Post
    And do the monsters defend back, if they have a range > 0 ?
    If ANY of the Monsters targeted have Range sufficient to reach you, you lose one Wound should you fail to win (or tie) the battle. In addition, any special effects of any Monsters that you targeted will come into play, such as Deadly or Thief.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ragnar Iceblood View Post
    Another question; The rules dosn't explain what happens to discarded cards, nor what happens when you dont have any more battledeck or loot cards to draw. We have assumed its suffle the discarded piles, and use those.
    Yes; these issues are dealt with in the FAQ.

    Quote Originally Posted by Moebius View Post
    More questions about Area Effect Shticks...

    Can you Defend against multiple monsters with Turn Undead or Poorly-Planned Illusion? The only other AES (so far), Fireball, has N/A for Defense, but those two have a value. Turn Undead is actually better in Defense than Attack.
    Yes, you can Defend using an Area Effect Shtick, if the shtick has a value for Defense. This would happen if you walk into a room of Monsters, or if you are attacked at Range by a Monster via the "Ambush!" Screw This! card.

    Quote Originally Posted by Moebius View Post
    Also, I know you can't keep fighting after you use an AES, even at Range 0. But can you use 'regular' shticks to kill the top monster(s) in a stack, one at a time, and then 'finish off' the stack with an AES?
    Yes, if you are battling at Range 0. (You can never "keep fighting" when battling at Range > 0.) Once you use an AES, though, you're done.
    Rich Burlew


    Utterly Dwarfed, the sixth compilation of The Order of the Stick, coming in December! Pre-order at Ookoodook (paper copies) or Gumroad (digital PDFs). (Also the 2020 OOTS Calendar!)

  19. - Top - End - #409
    Giant in the Playground Administrator
     
    The Giant's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Alertmav101 View Post
    To Whom it may concern:

    I have a question and it might be simple to answer but me and my brothers play order of the stick board game and came accross a problem. Last night we were playing and my brother rested and picked up 2 loot cards but one was a trap and he lost to the trap and it said that he lost a turn. Play resumed and it came to his turn to lose a turn but does that mean he is still sleeping or just awake but can't do anything because I wanted to attack but we didn't know if he still got penalized for being asleep. Thank you for the responce.
    When it is his turn again, he does not stand up and play immediately passes to the next person. This is his missed turn. When play returns to him again, he stands up and gains the benefit of resting (because he rested before the trap went off). He may then move as normal.

    If you attack him at any time when his playing piece is on its side--whether because he is resting or missing a turn--you still get the same +4 Attack.

    Quote Originally Posted by Moebius View Post
    Q: What happens if I lose a Ranged Attack against a monster with
    Bloodlust and no Range (or insufficient Range to reach the room Iím
    making my Ranged Attack from)?
    A: The battle is a draw. The rules for Ranged Attacks state that a monster
    cannot win a battle for which they have insufficient Range and that
    any result that would lead to a win (in this case, the presence of the
    Bloodlust ability) should be considered a draw instead.

    On page 18 of the rulebook, under Area Effect Shticks:

    Use any and all abilities possessed by the Monsters that affect the entire battle, including Bloodlust, Multiattack, or Outsmart.

    And then, in the example of a (Ranged) Area Effect , V is Fireballing some Snake Dragons (Bloodlust, but Range 0), and a Thing with the Eyes (Range 6).
    (s)He rolls a draw, and apparently the Bloodlust makes it a loss.

    So, one monster's Range makes another monster's Bloodlust work?
    Yes. Think of it as teamwork on the part of the Monsters.

    Quote Originally Posted by Moebius View Post
    And, just to clarify, if the Thing hadn't had sufficient Range to reach V, the Bloodlust would not have applied?
    Yes, if the Thing had not had sufficient Range, then Bloodlust would not have come into play at all. Because the Thing did have the Range, Bloodlust converted the draw into a win for the Monsters.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tremas View Post
    But what happens when you empty your Battle Hand and you don't need to provide a monster? Let's say your Battle Hand only has 2 cards - and they're both Screw This cards. And - either during your turn or during another player's turn - you play both Screw This cards. You have emptied your Battle Hand, but you have not been called on to play a monster.

    What do you do?
    This:

    Quote Originally Posted by Tremas View Post
    * If you emptied your Battle Hand (by playing Screw This cards), it doesn't matter if it's your turn or not. You must wait until you are called upon to play a monster before you draw a new Battle Hand (and you're skipped for that one-time monster selection).
    The only time you draw new Battle Hand cards is when you are called on to play a monster and cannot (or when a shtick or Screw This! allows you to, such as Durkon's W.W.T.D? shtick).
    Rich Burlew


    Utterly Dwarfed, the sixth compilation of The Order of the Stick, coming in December! Pre-order at Ookoodook (paper copies) or Gumroad (digital PDFs). (Also the 2020 OOTS Calendar!)

  20. - Top - End - #410
    Giant in the Playground Administrator
     
    The Giant's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by jamesgrasso View Post
    Roy Cleave Schtick. Can Roy use his Great sword to kill the first monster on the stack and then switch to his magic schtick and still use his cleave schtick to get the bonuses on subsequent monsters in the stack?
    Quote Originally Posted by apegamer View Post
    The intent is for Great Cleavage to only be used with Greenhilt Sword. This also means that if Roy somehow manages to defeat a monster with a magic shtick that it wouldn't add to the Great Cleavage bonus.
    Hmmmm...I'm going to have to strongly disagree with you, Kevin. Nothing on the card limits its usage to Greenhilt Sword. Considering that we have many cards that specifically DO limite their usage to one Battle Shtick, I think Roy can cleave with his bare hands if he wants.

    Also, I realize this means I have to edit one of my responses above...
    Rich Burlew


    Utterly Dwarfed, the sixth compilation of The Order of the Stick, coming in December! Pre-order at Ookoodook (paper copies) or Gumroad (digital PDFs). (Also the 2020 OOTS Calendar!)

  21. - Top - End - #411
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    donkyhotay's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    In regards to the issue of whether or not roy can use great cleavage with something besides the greenhilt sword, apegamer already ruled previously in this thread that great cleavage only works with the greenhilt sword. This is what I was basing my answer to Hebelios' question on. http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showt...ge#post2830075
    Yes by literal interpretation of the rules great cleavage will work with anything however the spirit of the schtick seems like it should only work with the sword (also this helps block the 'invincible roy' scenario that sometimes occurs on large stacks). While I know you are the final word on the rules, for the sake of moderator unity I would ask you discuss this with him and come back with a final answer on this (might be a good idea for the answer to go into the FAQ too since it has come up multiple times).
    Last edited by donkyhotay; 2007-08-08 at 03:40 PM.
    Do not be afraid to joust a giant just because some people insist on believing in windmills.
    FOSS Moonbase Commander remake @ http://code.google.com/p/tether

  22. - Top - End - #412
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Central Illinois (GMT -6)

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    A question came up last night regarding the "Ghost of Dorukan" card in the Xykon's Lair deck in conjunction with Elan's Poorly-Planned Illusion schtick. The wording on the "Ghost of Dorukan" card specifies that the boon is granted to the player who "kills the last monster in the room." In this case, Elan had killed the first monster he faced out of four in the room with a different battle schtick, but then used Poorly-Planned Illusion to move the rest of the monsters to another room.

    While it seems to me to make sense that Elan get the boon, the wording on the card would imply otherwise. Should the card say "defeats" instead of "kills"? Does the Ghost stay put until a new battle in the room is triggered and the new "last" monster in the room is actually killed? Or is there some other interpretation I'm missing? Elan DID kill a monster, but at the time he killed it, it wasn't the last one in the room. The last monster in the room wasn't killed, but moved to a different room. Thanks in advance!
    Penny for your thoughts? Are you sure you're not pricing yourself out of the market? Most people give them to me free whether I want them or not.

  23. - Top - End - #413
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    PMDM's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Around town
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Beating a card using the illusion is considered "defeating the monster". So yes, winning those battles and revoming the monsters from that particular room should get you the extra shtick.
    I'll race you to the top of the spire.

    HOW TO ROLL ON THE FORUM SITE:
    Quote Originally Posted by Jacob Orlove View Post
    For example: [roll=Spot ]1d20+5[/roll ] would show up (without the extra spaces) as a normal roll.
    There's also [rollv=NameOfRoll]xdy+z[/rollv] which will show you all the individual rolls, eg: [rollv=strength ]4d6[/rollv ] gives you 4 rolls, and their sum.
    [roll=strength ]4d6b3[/roll ] gives you the best 3 of the 4 rolls

  24. - Top - End - #414
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Central Illinois (GMT -6)

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Except the Ghost of Dorukan specifically says "kills", NOT "defeats". Hence the conundrum.
    Penny for your thoughts? Are you sure you're not pricing yourself out of the market? Most people give them to me free whether I want them or not.

  25. - Top - End - #415
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    If I defeat Xykon, can I use him both for drawing schticks and also for his 2 * Level bragging points?

    Can I use "I Forgot They Could Do That" to negate a special monster ability that is granted to a monster from a room? For example, a monster in the Earth Dungeon becomes Impervious. Can I use IFTCDT to render the monster non-Impervious? If I can, and if the monster is normally Impervious on its own, do I need two cards to negate the ability from each of two sources, or just one card to negate the one ability?

    Even if IFTCDT can be used for room-based abilities such as above, I'd assume that it can only be used to negate abilities that some monsters have naturally and which are included in the list at the end of the rulebook. So it couldn't be used to negate effects on monsters from the Summoning Room or the Employee Lounge, for example. Correct?

  26. - Top - End - #416
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Ellisthion's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Dun dun dun! with Ranged Attacks:

    Say I have 2 Leaping Attacks, and try to make a Ranged Attack at Range 2 (my maximum). Then, someone uses Dun dun dun! to flip one of my Leaping Attacks. My range is reduced to 1, and I can no longer reach the foe. What happens?

    Come to that, what happens when your only Ranged Shtick is flipped when doing a Ranged Attack?
    People pay thousands of dollars for diamonds, even though diamonds do nothing but look pretty.
    A video game suit of armor looks pretty and protects you from video game orcs.

  27. - Top - End - #417
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by prj View Post
    If I defeat Xykon, can I use him both for drawing schticks and also for his 2 * Level bragging points?
    Yes.

    Quote Originally Posted by prj View Post
    Can I use "I Forgot They Could Do That" to negate a special monster ability that is granted to a monster from a room? For example, a monster in the Earth Dungeon becomes Impervious. Can I use IFTCDT to render the monster non-Impervious?
    Yes, the room says that the monster gains the ability, and IFTCDT removes the ability from the monster. If the monster already has the ability, then the room doesn't really give the ability again, so removing it a second time is not necessary.


    Quote Originally Posted by prj View Post
    Even if IFTCDT can be used for room-based abilities such as above, I'd assume that it can only be used to negate abilities that some monsters have naturally and which are included in the list at the end of the rulebook. So it couldn't be used to negate effects on monsters from the Summoning Room or the Employee Lounge, for example. Correct?
    Yes, that's right.
    Owner of APE Games.

  28. - Top - End - #418
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Ellisthion View Post
    Dun dun dun! with Ranged Attacks:

    Say I have 2 Leaping Attacks, and try to make a Ranged Attack at Range 2 (my maximum). Then, someone uses Dun dun dun! to flip one of my Leaping Attacks. My range is reduced to 1, and I can no longer reach the foe. What happens?

    Come to that, what happens when your only Ranged Shtick is flipped when doing a Ranged Attack?
    In both cases the attack is unsuccessful and your turn is over.
    Owner of APE Games.

  29. - Top - End - #419
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    ClericGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Hi.. Great game by the way captures the comic well..

    A couple questions that came up...
    1: A conformation on if Roy can use great cleave with bag of tricks etc..
    2: Can Belkar use halfling rage after the dice is rolled to change a loss into a win?

  30. - Top - End - #420
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Rekrah View Post
    Hi.. Great game by the way captures the comic well..

    A couple questions that came up...
    1: A conformation on if Roy can use great cleave with bag of tricks etc..
    Yes. The card doesn't prohibit the use of Great Cleavage with other shticks. We may change this in the future, but right now we don't need another FAQ entry.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rekrah View Post
    2: Can Belkar use halfling rage after the dice is rolled to change a loss into a win?
    No, flip it before the dice roll and hope for the best.

    Glad you like the game!
    Owner of APE Games.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •