Page 3 of 21 FirstFirst 12345678910111213 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 90 of 605

Thread: Rules Questions

  1. - Top - End - #61
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Traveling_Angel's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    within a light year
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Ubeor
    2) *Does anyone else find Roy's Great Cleavage schtick to be too powerful? *We had one encounter on dungeon level 3 that, thanks to Redcloak, demon roaches, and a few well-placed Goblin Necromancers, soon turned into a battle-size 22 encounter! *Included in the stack were 3 Linear Guild members (Nale, Thog, and Yikyik). *By the time Roy got to them, his Great Cleavage (hee hee... Roy has boobies) was high enough that he didn't even have to roll. *He got enough monster cards from the battle to receive 8 schticks just from the trade-ins!
    If I read the rules right, you can only trade monsters/loot for schticks at the end and beginning of a turn.



    also, when you have enough exp to trade for 2 or more schticks (ie three 2 exp monsters) how is this handled?

  2. - Top - End - #62
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Billings, Montana

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    On page 21 of the Rulebook.

    You may turn in as many Monsters as you wish at one time. You gain one shtick draw for every 3 x symbols.

    I assume that means you draw three shticks, choose one, put the other two on the bottom of your shtick deck, then draw the top three shticks on the deck after putting the other two on the bottom... choose one of the new three, and put the other two under the first "other two"... continue doing so.

    I'm assuming you were asking if you could choose 2 or even all of the three cards drawn when you trade in monsters...

    And of course... maybe I shouldn't even be replying, as I've only read the rules (over and over and over and over... and over) and not played the game yet.


  3. - Top - End - #63
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    tgva8889's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    The Middle of Nowhere
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I think you do them one at a time, and as you get no "change" XP, if you had 3 2-XP monsters, you would only get 1 shtick. Granted, I haven't played and am not an authority, so...
    It's tgva8889. If you can't spell it correctly, just copypasta it, please.

    Pokemon White Friend Code: 3353 3706 1386
    Thanks to araveugnitsuga for my current Poke-atar.

  4. - Top - End - #64
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Traveling_Angel's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    within a light year
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Justin_Miller
    On page 21 of the Rulebook.

    You may turn in as many Monsters as you wish at one time. *You gain one shtick draw for every 3 x symbols.

    I assume that means you draw three shticks, choose one, put the other two on the bottom of your shtick deck, then draw the top three shticks on the deck after putting the other two on the bottom... choose one of the new three, and put the other two under the first "other two"... continue doing so.

    I'm assuming you were asking if you could choose 2 or even all of the three cards drawn when you trade in monsters...

    And of course... maybe I shouldn't even be replying, as I've only read the rules (over and over and over and over... and over) and not played the game yet.
    thanks, although I would like an official ruling. and I'm with you on the last part.

  5. - Top - End - #65
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Billings, Montana

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by tgva8889
    I think you do them one at a time, and as you get no "change" XP, if you had 3 2-XP monsters, you would only get 1 shtick. Granted, I haven't played and am not an authority, so...

    If you had 3 "2 XP" monsters, you'd have a total of 6 XP... you need 3 to get a new shtick... so 6/3=2... thus you'd be able to draw two shticks seperately.

    Now, if you had a 3 XP monster and 2 "2 XP" monsters... you'd have 3+2+2=7. If you turned in all THREE of THOSE monsters to the Battle Deck Discard Pile, you'd get 2 shticks (for 6 of the 7 XP) and the last XP would be lost, as you had to discard the monster with the "extra" XP point that you didn't use.

    THAT is what they mean by "not getting change".

    At least... I'm about 99% sure that's what they mean.

    Edit: Added emphasis on "those"


  6. - Top - End - #66
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Augusta, GA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Justin_Miller


    If you had 3 "2 XP" monsters, you'd have a total of 6 XP... you need 3 to get a new shtick... so 6/3=2... thus you'd be able to draw two shticks seperately.

    Now, if you had a 3 XP monster and 2 "2 XP" monsters... you'd have 3+2+2=7. If you turned in all THREE of THOSE monsters to the Battle Deck Discard Pile, you'd get 2 shticks (for 6 of the 7 XP) and the last XP would be lost, as you had to discard the monster with the "extra" XP point that you didn't use.

    THAT is what they mean by "not getting change".

    At least... I'm about 99% sure that's what they mean.

    Edit: Added emphasis on "those"
    Nope, you are exactly right.

  7. - Top - End - #67
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Traveling_Angel's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    within a light year
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Another question. The rules (at least the download) say after losing your last wound you immediately move 3 toward the entrance. The examples says on his next turn he moves. ???

  8. - Top - End - #68
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Traveling_Angel

    thanks, although I would like an official ruling. and I'm with you on the last part.
    That's exactly right. Justin Miller's comment about not getting change is also right.

    Heck, I don't need to check back here so often, looks like this is pretty well under control!

    ;)
    Owner of APE Games.

  9. - Top - End - #69
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Xenia, Ohio

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Does Xykon start at the top of the battle stack when he appears in the game or does he move to the back? I can come up with a good reason for both, but I was wondering if there was an official word in the rules book and I am just not seeing it.
    "Talk is cheap. Whiskey costs money" - Corwin, Prince of Amber

  10. - Top - End - #70
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Houston

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Kaertos
    Does Xykon start at the top of the battle stack when he appears in the game or does he move to the back?
    Xykon should be the first monster you face in the room where he appears. This ensures that he gains all of the support benefits from the other monsters that are played into the room.

    Note: This is true for all Xykon Monster cards (not just the Xykon card). As the first card played into the room, the Xykon Monster card always goes at the top of the battle stack and is therefore encountered first in battle.

    The only thing different about battling Xykon is that you never actually get to fight the other monsters in that room. When Xykon is defeated, the dungeon begins to collapse and the other monsters in the room immediately flee the dungeon.

  11. - Top - End - #71
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    OK, I have not played the game, only read the rulebook online, but I have a couple of questions. I'm pretty sure I know the answers, but I figured it's better to ask, so these can be added to the FAQ if deemed appropriate.

    1. If I'm not in the same square as a monster, do I care that it has flying? In particular, if I'm in the square next to it and have a range of 1, is it in range, or is it effectively one square over, one square "up"? My interpretation of flying is "if range is 0, require a ranged weapon but treat as a normal attack for all effects; otherwise, absolutely no change." I'm curious if I'm right, though.

    2. If a creature has both flying and tricky, and I'm in the same square as it and shooting with a ranged weapon, does it get the +10 bonus on Defense? The rules suggest that it does not (even though it's a ranged weapon, and you're required to use a ranged weapon to hit, it's still not a ranged attack), but I figured a direct answer would be a good idea.

    Edit: Maybe I was misinterpreting things...reading the FAQ, it sounds like flying basically adds +1 to range for all effects. Is this accurate?

  12. - Top - End - #72
    Giant in the Playground Administrator
     
    The Giant's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by rwald
    OK, I have not played the game, only read the rulebook online, but I have a couple of questions. I'm pretty sure I know the answers, but I figured it's better to ask, so these can be added to the FAQ if deemed appropriate.

    1. If I'm not in the same square as a monster, do I care that it has flying? In particular, if I'm in the square next to it and have a range of 1, is it in range, or is it effectively one square over, one square "up"? My interpretation of flying is "if range is 0, require a ranged weapon but treat as a normal attack for all effects; otherwise, absolutely no change." I'm curious if I'm right, though.
    Flying does not in any way affect the Range to the monster.

    All Flying does is prevent players from using a Shtick that has a listed Range of 0 when fighting that monster. Since you already can't attack a monster at Range > 0 unless your shtick has a listed Range > 0, Flying status has no actual effect on ranged attacks.

    Quote Originally Posted by rwald
    2. If a creature has both flying and tricky, and I'm in the same square as it and shooting with a ranged weapon, does it get the +10 bonus on Defense? The rules suggest that it does not (even though it's a ranged weapon, and you're required to use a ranged weapon to hit, it's still not a ranged attack), but I figured a direct answer would be a good idea.
    No, it does not get the +10 bonus in that case. The exact wording says that if the actual Range to the monster is greater than 0, it gains +10 Defense--it does not mention the listed Range on the shtick you are using, which is therefore not relevent. A monster with Flying and Tricky would get the effects of Tricky against attacks coming from another room, and the effects of Flying on attacks coming from the same room.

    Quote Originally Posted by rwald
    Edit: Maybe I was misinterpreting things...reading the FAQ, it sounds like flying basically adds +1 to range for all effects. Is this accurate?
    No. Flying prevents the usage of shticks with a listed Range of 0, that's all. Think of it as working exactly like Impervious, which prevents use of Weapon Shticks. Only in this case, replace "Weapon Shticks" with "Shticks with a printed Range of 0".

    EDIT: I went back and read the FAQ; I disagree with the response stating that Sneak Attack cannot work at Range 0 against a Flying monster. The text of Sneak Attack says that it works at Range 0, and if you are in the same room with a Monster, you have a Range of 0. Period. Whether or not the Monster has Flying is irrelevent. Flying has exactly one game effect: to prevent the use of Shticks with a listed Range of 0. Sneak Attack does not have a listed Range score of 0; it does not have a listed Range score AT ALL--because it is not a Battle Shtick. Therefore, Sneak Attack should still work against a Flying monster at Range 0 with Haley's Longbow.

    The answer regarding the Leap Attack is still accurate, because Leap Attack actually changes the Range score of Twin Daggers of Doom.
    Rich Burlew



    Also, holiday ornament and t-shirts from CafePress:

  13. - Top - End - #73
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    MonkGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ottawa,Ontario
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Here's a question I couldn't find an answer to:

    In a player versus player battle,the winner gets to take an equipped loot from the other player or a random loot from your loot stash if you don't have equipped loot. After this, in the aftermath, you have to give any promised loot to anyone who helped you in the combat. Is the loot that was promised by the losing character to the assisting characters off limits, or can the winner take loot that was supposed to go to another character? If the winner does get to take loot that was supposed to go to another character, what happens then?

    Same question, but for when you lose against a monster who has the theif ability.
    Arcade

  14. - Top - End - #74
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcade
    After this, in the aftermath, you have to give any promised loot to anyone who helped you in the combat.
    Loot is given before the combat. You can't, in fact, give loot to someone after the combat becasue you may not have loot that they Drool Over.
    Owner of APE Games.

  15. - Top - End - #75
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    MonkGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ottawa,Ontario
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by apegamer

    Loot is given before the combat. You can't, in fact, give loot to someone after the combat becasue you may not have loot that they Drool Over.
    OK. That makes sense. I'm looking at part 7, "Aftermath", of the "Attacking a Monster" section between pages 14 and 15. On the last bullet it states:
    "If you offered loot to any other player (active or NPC) for assistance in battle, you must now give that Loot to those players- whether you won or lost the battle."
    It makes it sound like you don't give out loot until after the battle is done. But your answer works a lot better and takes care of any of these conflicts.

    Thanks.
    Arcade

  16. - Top - End - #76
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcade

    "If you offered loot to any other player (active or NPC) for assistance in battle, you must now give that Loot to those players- whether you won or lost the battle."
    Technically that's true. In our playing, we always give the loot immediately upon offering it, as it's just easier. There are some effects, though, that cause the loot to not be given, and so sometimes the loot needs to be given back.
    Owner of APE Games.

  17. - Top - End - #77
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    MonkGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ottawa,Ontario
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by apegamer

    Technically that's true. In our playing, we always give the loot immediately upon offering it, as it's just easier. There are some effects, though, that cause the loot to not be given, and so sometimes the loot needs to be given back.
    And so to really beat this horse to death, I assume that any loot you promise to someone else can't be used in the battle you are waging. For instance, Elan can't promise the "Elveniest Boots Ever" to Haley for assistance and then use them in the same fight to boost his "Hide" schtick.
    Arcade

  18. - Top - End - #78
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Schtick turn-in?

    Do you pick a random Schtick from the pile or do you search through the deck and pick the one you want?

  19. - Top - End - #79
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Doughboy120
    Schtick turn-in?

    Do you pick a random Schtick from the pile or do you search through the deck and pick the one you want?
    If you are gaining the schtick from experience (trading in three X's from defeated monsters) you take the top three cards from the schtick deck and choose one, placing the other two at the bottom of the schtick deck.

    If you gain a schtick in any other way (trading in loot with three drool factor, a room effect or Screw This! effect, etc), you must take the top schtick in the pile.

    For future referance, this information is found on page 21 of the rulebook :)

  20. - Top - End - #80
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    RogueGuy

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    West Virginia
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Okay here is the situation from last night. Haley was in the middle of the second floor. Elan moved into a new room three rooms to the left of Haley and three monsters (first one had leadership, the second is flying) are discovered and Elan hides. Belkar moves into a room two rooms to the right of Haley and two monsters are discovered and Belkar loses his roll. Then when Haleyís turn rolled around she ranged attacked the three monsters in Elanís room defeating them with her +4 range attack. She then attacks the two monsters in Belkarís room defeating them as well.

    So here are the questions:
    Can she attack more than one monster in Elanís stack with her range attack?
    Can she attack both stacks with her range attack?
    Does she need +3 or +4 to range to attack a flying creature three rooms away? .

    I searched through the threads and did not find my answer to the first two. The third seems to be +4 but while I was asking . . .

  21. - Top - End - #81
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I had a question regarding fleeing as it's explained in the rulebook. The example and the official text seem to conflict.

    In the text, it says that the person fleeing immediately drops loot and then immediately moves 3 spaces, even on someone else's turn.

    However, in the example, Elan enters "fleeing mode", drops an item of loot, but does not move three spaces until it's his NEXT turn.

    So which one is correct?

  22. - Top - End - #82
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    MonkGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ottawa,Ontario
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Panzar_NSidious
    So here are the questions:
    Can she attack more than one monster in Elanís stack with her range attack? *
    Can she attack both stacks with her range attack?
    Does she need +3 or +4 to range to attack a flying creature three rooms away? *.
    On page 15 of the rules in section 8:
    You may not continue to battle additional monsters if you make a Ranged Attack into a room; you must be in the same room as the Monsters in order to continue.

    This should answer questions 1 and 2.
    Arcade

  23. - Top - End - #83
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    How many duplicate unique monsters are there? I know Redcloak appears twice, but how often does the "if a second unique monster is placed, the first one is discarded" rule actually get used?

  24. - Top - End - #84
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by fngkestrel
    I had a question regarding fleeing as it's explained in the rulebook. The example and the official text seem to conflict.

    In the text, it says that the person fleeing immediately drops loot and then immediately moves 3 spaces, even on someone else's turn.

    However, in the example, Elan enters "fleeing mode", drops an item of loot, but does not move three spaces until it's his NEXT turn.

    So which one is correct?

    Unfortunately, there is no "official" rule on this. My group uses the house rule that you must flee as quickly as normal movement would allow. If it is your turn, and you have not yet moved, you drop a loot and flee, otherwise you must wait until your next turn (as it is either not your turn or you've already exhausted your movement).

  25. - Top - End - #85
    APE Games in the Playground
     
    apegamer's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I have not abandoned this topic. Once we get out from under the Pre-Order Shipping Monster (Attack: 18, Defence: 18, Impervious, Enchanted, Support - Everything) I'll be back in full force.
    Owner of APE Games.

  26. - Top - End - #86
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Panzar_NSidious
    Does she need +3 or +4 to range to attack a flying creature three rooms away? *.
    +3. See The Giant's post on page 5 of this forum.

  27. - Top - End - #87
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    SamuraiGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Lawrence, Kansas

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    I would like some clarification on a couple of screw this cards.

    On the "I forgot they could do that" card being used on a Leader or Horde ability: Which monsters are removed? The last ones played or the next ones played after the leader/horde trigger?

    On the Screw this cards that grant a +3 to one type of monster, can that be played AFTER a roll of the dice to cause a win to become a loss? I understand there is a +1 card that can change the result of a battle, but the +3 card doesn't say one way or the other.

    Thank you, by the way, for a very fun game, I look forward to the expansions.

  28. - Top - End - #88
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Upstate NY

    Default looking for clarification on Assistance

    Hiya, Just opened my shiny new pre-order of the OotS Game, and I seek clarification on giving Assistance.

    The description of what you can do while Attacking a monster implies characters who render Assistance lose a turn. However, I can't find another mention of the consequences of rendering Assistance in the rules (be nice to have that as a heading somewhere).

    So, is that so? Do characters who render Assistance lose a turn?

    edit: 5:07 pm ó I see now where I was confused, for the want of an appropriately placed pause. "You may ask any other player on the same floor as you who is not resting or missing a turn for assistance." When I read that, I didn't pause right, and saw "missing a turn for assistance" as meaning someone who had assisted would miss a turn. A comma between you and who, and another between turn and for would have helped. But I get it now.

    Thanks,
    Q

  29. - Top - End - #89
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    MonkGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Ottawa,Ontario
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: looking for clarification on Assistance

    Quote Originally Posted by qhudspeth
    The description of what you can do while Attacking a monster implies characters who render Assistance lose a turn. However, I can't find another mention of the consequences of rendering Assistance in the rules (be nice to have that as a heading somewhere).

    So, is that so? Do characters who render Assistance lose a turn?
    Q
    No, giving assistance does not make you lose a turn. The only disadvantage of giving assistance is that you help another player, but you get loot out of it, so it's likely worth it.
    Arcade

  30. - Top - End - #90
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location

    Default Re: Rules Questions

    Quote Originally Posted by Mac13eth
    I would like some clarification on a couple of screw this cards.

    On the "I forgot they could do that" card being used on a Leader or Horde ability: Which monsters are removed? The last ones played or the next ones played after the leader/horde trigger?

    On the Screw this cards that grant a +3 to one type of monster, can that be played AFTER a roll of the dice to cause a win to become a loss? I understand there is a +1 card that can change the result of a battle, but the +3 card doesn't say one way or the other.
    The "I forgot they could do that" ability causes the last monsters not to be played (it really should be played -before- the cards are revealed, if at all possible). Both of these abilities cause the battle size to increase, but do not alter the order of monsters that are played. If these abilities are ignored, then the "additional" monsters are simply never played.

    As for the +3 cards, ("Arm Zombies" for example,) since they do not explicitly state that they can be played after the dice are rolled, then it is assumed they can't. As a general rule, when one card explicitly states that it can do something, assume other cards can't (unless they also state they can, obviously).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •