D&D 3e/3.5e/d20The forum for conversations specifically related to the rules and procedures of Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition, 3.5 Edition, or any fantasy game using the d20 system or a variant thereof (commercially published or not).
After one enters a stance employed by a fighting style a style feat embodies, is there any condition, effect, or situation caused by an outside force that can cause one to drop or end the stance? (Style Feats, Ultimate Combat, pg 78) Example: A monk is first to act in combat, he has all three of the Crane Style feats. He uses a swift action to adopt the stance from the Crane Style. Does he remain in this stance until he dies and/or combat ends? Or is there a way an outside force can cause him to drop the stance?
A196+ Yes, the only way around an immunity is when the rules explicitly say so, like in the case of proteans. If making a custom creature then a similar rules provision should be added for it to avoid confusion later.
A197 Yes, since it doesn't use wings to fly, it should be able to do so as a skeleton.
A198 See Flight under Universal Monster Rules:
Originally Posted by SRD
If the creature has wings, flight is an extraordinary ability. Otherwise, it is spell-like or supernatural [...]
A199 Yes, assuming you can find enough corpses, you should be able to control up to a maximum of 30x4 HD at level 20.
Edit: You should also note that these are separate "HD pools", when you cast Animate Dead as a necromancer, it can't exceed 15x4 HD. You can't control the excess with the cleric's HD pool, you can however use Command Undead to assume control of the excess but this is again a separate pool.
The closest thing I can think of is the Coven Hex for the Witch class. Unlike Circle Magic (which tops out at CL 40), the only limit to this caster level booster is the number of witches you can fit in a 30' radius.
Aura of Heroism (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot aura of heroism for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. Using this ability is a swift action. Allies in the area are treated as if they were under the effects of heroism.
Is the 30-foot aura mentioned above measured as a radius or a diameter?
It says "10-foot square" so 2X2 sounds right. 4x4 would be a twenty foot square. Q203
Here's a weird interaction question. Dragonbane Aura grants a bonus on saving throws against dragons breath to allies equal to the bonus from your aura of courage when in your aura of courage.
Fair enough, makes sense.
But here's where things get tricky. There is another feat, Fearless Aura, that grants allies immunity to fear effects when in your aura of courage.
Does this mean that with for Paladin that has both feats, your allies, within the area, are immune to dragon breath effects?
Originally Posted by Calanon
Raven_Cry's comments often have the effects of a +5 Tome of Understanding
@202 Just thought I'd check in case it was like the radius of a circle.
A203 No, since immunity is no longer a bonus to checks. It's either the original bonus since nothing says that it no longer applies, or it's no bonus at all if the GM wants to argue that immunity replaces the bonus completely but that would make the feat useless.
Q204 Can I use Spellcraft for the Craft Construct feat? The general rules says spellcraft or other appropriate skill(usually). And the feat says it works like other item creation feats which all can use spellcraft.
Q205 Does having extra arms actually provide any benefit to grappling? I was considering playing an alchemist 2/Tetori Monk X, for a grapple focused build with extra arms and I could not find anything about it.
Q206: Suppose I make a first level sorcerer with the elemental (fire) bloodline and give him Burning Hands as one of his starting spells. He then gets Burning Hands (a version that's technically of the energy type of his bloodline but since it's fire anyway it's identical) as one of his bonus spells at 3rd level.
Can he then switch the original Burning Hands away for some other spell at 4th level (without losing the bonus spell) or not?
Since bloodline spells are "in addition to the number of spells given on the sorcerer table," so I think, technically, you have Burning Hands listed twice for spells known. That would allow you to switch the first with another spell known at 4th level.
Avatar by A Rainy Knight
DMs get experience too, you know. Every time a player dies, they level up.
A206 Technically there's no rules for this, so talk to your GM. Since you can't know the same spell twice, you can't replace "one of them", the only question is, if you decide to replace burning hands, can you retroactively benefit from the bonus spell? You really should have thought of this beforehand.
Can a witch use the prehensile hair hex to deliver touch attacks on targets 10' away? Logically it would seem an obvious "yes," but I can't seem to find a good RAW definition of what constitutes a "touch attack."