For Elven Accuracy, you can use it ONCE during the whole MAIN Skill challenge. So you can use it (I doubt it with you second roll), but once you do, you cannot use it in an other battle untill you guys decide to end (or fail) this skill challenge. Note that if I decide to run a full battle for some reason, you will be able to use it as usual during that battle.
I'm guessing the same ruling would apply to the Human EP, Heroic Effort, which does a similar sort of thing (add 4 to an attack or save you just failed, once per encounter).
you bonus number for that power may vary, but for this one I'd say you can have two adjacent enemies (since they are mostly artillery, they stay away as much as possible). You'd get a better bonus with infantry groups .
Kind of out of touch with you guys, sorry! This series of events really did't play to her strengths, making most choices a 'which would do the least harm if I failed' hence my hesitation to take the roll from someone else (like I didn't know Ashe has +8 Nature)
Anyway, I'm still here <3
Thanks Gigi Digi for the avatar.
I'm sorry Monique. I realise that the two enge doesnt lay too much on your character strenght, but the situation isnt much of a social or magical knowledge nature.
Note that you didnt had to wait for someone to roll nature (to complete the et of 3). you could had rolled something letting someone else the duty to roll it (knowing Ashe was better suited than you for the task). The only thing that I needed was someone (in the end) that roll each skills. So if you and Ung would had rolled bluff and stealth yourselves before Ashe took his turn, he would had had to do the nature check. Looking at the situation, it might have been a good idea (metagaming wise) to have ung roll the nature (would probably have been a failure) and play on his sure strenght (auto-success with perception). But I am kinda happy you didnt do that.... it make more sense the way you did it.
It is natural that players wants to use their best skills (I know I have that reflex myself as a player), but in the end eveyone have to particpate in most situation (I dont think your character would simply stay behind letting every else do the hard work and participate as much as you can). That is why I designed and use these group skill check. Otherwise, skill challenge would never really have chances of failure as usually, as a group, there is always someone trained in a skill with a good bonus that will almost auto-succeed.
Anyway, I am happy to know you still are around, and fear not, there is other skill challenge (or simple need of skill for information) that will fit your skills and it will be the others who will struggle to find something to do... you just always seem to go around/somewhere else/do something else.
Also, you are right, the way I first thought the battle thing (averge rolls), would probably not be the best way. Instead, if you have the possibility to do multiples rolls - multiple attack or burst/blast (except stuff lie Oath of enmoty), I'll use the first rolls to check the success, and the other rolls will give a +2 bonus to the first roll on an hit. It think it would be better that way... sorry for the changes... I am still experimenting this.
Wow, I managed to get 24, 25, 25. If it's average rolls, that basically didn't change the result (because a single roll would have been with my +2 Short Sword, which would have made the first roll 25 ).
With the new rules that include damage, I think Jieung's better off using his ninja-to, rather than the shuriken. I'm good for another clash, I don't think the +3 will be a game-changer for this next fight.
Dekkah, my Ninja-to Rush at-will power gives me CA if I jump, fly or fall during the turn that I use it. Since I can just use sparrow form to fulfill the fly or fall portion at-will, can I consider Ninja-to Rush to be worth +2 attack for this skill challenge system?
Do be clear, since you had the -2 bonus on the previous attack/ambush... the net difference will be +5 (but you are right, it is +3 compared the the regular set of defenses). To give you an idea, you know that 17 VS Ac was enough... so the Ac of next round wont be higher than 22... (I'll use the same set since this still is an artillery group similar to the other).
Shadow : since you probably wont be able to get it the whole battle (once enganged, you would not be able to really use that bonus). Still, I'll grant you a +1 bonus for this power ability.
By the way, Dekkah, I would like to rename some of Ace's spells to make them more card themed, but I know this makes them harder to look up in the compendium when you've got a question. If I put the real name in their info box on his Mythweavers sheet, can I change the name I use for them?
Huh that's a high AC -- are you guys up to it? Another group *should* be okay, but ... what do you think?
I'm willing to fight again.
I've got Heroic Effort still waiting to be used, which nets a +4 as needed to an attack. The odds of hitting a 22AC for Bolerum are actually quite good -- 9 or higher with Valiant Strike; 5 or higher if he needs to use his racial EP. If their AC is a point or two lower, the odds are better yet.
It looks like we nearly have a consensus. I'll wait for an affirmative from either Gillric or Timlaff.
Gillric's attack bonus of +10 has a very reasonable chance of hitting AC22, since he rolls many attacks twice. His odds of hitting a 22 are roughly 70%; better than 90% if Elven Accuracy is accounted for. Ung seems to have a fairly impressive attack bonus (+12), making his chance of hitting AC22 55%.
We seem to have the makings of another success in the seige's big skill challenge here -- something we could certainly use.
Question : Before the second round, did you take time to quickly search bodies and take ears? You had a minute, so with a decent perception, you might spot a few interesting items if there is any (and you can harvest 15 more ears)
Ok, well you did earn your success with Ashe, Bolerum and Ung attack.
Jieung miss (finaly a crappy roll... about time lol)... so he have to either expend 1 surge or a daily attack power (he choose)
Bolerum : You didnt had to expend Heroic surge (You still have it for an other battle)
Monique roll is important for two reason, so I'll wait for her to log in so she get the chance to decide her action for herself. :
1 - To see if she loose a asurge/daily
2 - If she succeed, she will let you still have a reduced DC/defenses for the next part (-2).
Monique, if you decide to use the power that let someone else do a MBA, his roll would act as any other roll and possibly give you +2 (on hit).... (note that this person have to roll damage to give himself possible bonuses)
To let you start to discuss what you wanna do next, here is a summary of what happens (I'll narate it IC after Monique post).
You defeat the goblin with relative ease (depends on monique roll)
The rushing 3rd patrol stop about 5 rounds from you seeing the carnage you did. They wait for the 4th patroll and yell to the workers to take arms (which they do).
There is 3 options at this point :
1 - WAit for an other round of battle to come to you (30 artillery, 40 infantry..... so about 70 goblins) .
The monster stats will change for some soldiers stats (since there is more infantry) and the DC will also rise again by this time by 10 becasue of sheer numbers of enemies (for a total of +15 to defenses compared to a monster your level). I realise that this is probably too much... but 70 goblins VS 5 heroes is probably too much anyway (I'll let you be the judge of that) .
2 - You may try rush at the 3rd guards patroll (15) which is 5 rounds away to slay them before the infantry (40) is ready and the 4th guard group (15) get to them doubling their numbers.
This will require first a group Athletic check (3/5) to run to the enemies.
DC varies with your base speed (5 = DC 12, 6 = DC 10, 7 = DC 8).
Success at this will prevent the enemies to gain an other +3 to their defenses.
Failure means they get an additionnal +3 to their defenses (added to the previous +5 = +8 to all defenses VS the original set of defenses (note that you still can get the -2 if Monique hit with her own roll in the previous attack)
3 - Flee, as described sooner (for the previous step). Note that if monique doesnt hit, the reduced DCs will get to their regular value (+2).
Also, if you choose option 1 or 3, you can afford to loot the corpses of your victims, but it will add +1 to the DCs /defenses