D&D 3e/3.5e/d20The forum for conversations specifically related to the rules and procedures of Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition, 3.5 Edition, or any fantasy game using the d20 system or a variant thereof (commercially published or not).
In the PHB page 141, the chart says that charges do not provoke attacks of opportunity.
Does that mean that the movement from charges do not provoke attacks of opportunity?
If I'm holding a reach weapon and I get charged, does my enemy provoke? There's nothing in the actual text of charge that says anything about avoid AoOs.
Relevant footnote is relevant:
Originally Posted by SRD Actions In Combat
Regardless of the action, if you move out of a threatened square, you usually provoke an attack of opportunity. This column indicates whether the action itself, not moving, provokes an attack of opportunity.
So yes, a reach weapon enables AoO provocation when your enemy moves out of the 10' square and into the 5' square; it's not helpful if your enemy is charging with reach, though. (For that, you need a readied action or the equivalent.)
Originally Posted by Water_Bear
That's RAW for you; 100% Rules-Legal, 110% silly.
Originally Posted by hamishspence
"Common sense" and "RAW" are not exactly on speaking terms
Tuggyne has the right of it. The Rules Compendium is even clearer than the SRD that while the charge itself does not provoke (as, for instance, a Bull Rush does), you "provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for your movement" (p. 27).
In the case of a hostile third party, whose threat range you move through whilst charging, if you exit a threatened square whilst charging then that still provokes.
This is due to the same footnote (1 on page 141).
π = 4
Consider a 5' radius blast: this affects 4 squares which have a circumference of 40' — Actually it's worse than that.