D&D 3e/3.5e/d20The forum for conversations specifically related to the rules and procedures of Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition, 3.5 Edition, or any fantasy game using the d20 system or a variant thereof (commercially published or not).
I want to play a rogue in my d&d group; GM did allow us to slightly modify our characters/classes. Don't want my rogue to wear any kind of armor and get some kind of AC bonus instead. How should I do that? INT to AC like in Invisible Blade's unfettered defense?
Same character. Want to be able to do sneak attack without a flanking partner if everyone goes solo to spread the search for goals, which happens quite often. Is there a way I can deny Dex to AC for all the sneak attacks I do in my turn, and not only for the first one, through attacking first? Maybe Uncanny Feint? Camouflage+HiPS hide between every single sting?
Question about skillmonkeying: Why is the factotum considered a better skillmonkey class than rogue? Just curious. Is it because "skillmonkey" means to be able to use all skills? And factotum can use all lvl1 skills + Cunning knowledge?
Answer to the poster below me:
Ok, I'm sorry. I'll repost it in a separate thread.
I think Vaern interpreted "knowledge of the spell contained therein" as meaning having the spell on the list of known spells for the user. This indeed is unnecessary. You do need to which spell(s) the staff has available however.
What he said. My question is assuming that an identify spell has already been used on the staff being activated, or that it was purchased from an NPC who had sufficiently informed the character of the staff's abilities. The spells contained within a wand or staff do not need to be on the character's "spells known" list, only his class spell list.
Size changes a lot of things about various items and gear: damage on weapons, Weight things that can be sized, etc. But what I want to know is how this pertains to armor and shields. Q1332
How does the size of the creature using it effect the cost to purchase a piece of armor or a shield? I mean, feasibly, the fact that a small-sized suit of armor uses less material would reduce the cost to create it, but at the same time, smaller armor may be more difficult to create with the level of quality one finds in a medium suit of armor, increasing the DR, and countering the loss in cost. Q1333
Which leads to the second question: Does being small or large sized change the qualities of a suit of armor (AC bonus, Check penalty, etc.) due to the difference in quality inherent in the size? (Small armor being more difficult to apply finer details to, and Large armor being easier) Q1334
How does a difference in size change the effect of things like shields? Does a larger shield offer a greater AC bonus? And what about Tower shiled cover? I had a Half Ogre character that bought a tower shield from a smith that "Might have been the Smithy's Door, re-purposed as a shield". Such a size modifier seems like it would allow a smaller fighter to take full cover, rather than half cover, behind that shield, or the shield-bearing warrior. Q1335
If a character has the Feat, "Monkey Grip" allowing for use of over-sized weapons, does it follow that they would be able to wield an over-sized shield as well? (Imagining my half Ogre with a re-purposed Barn Door as a Huge sized shield) :)
If a ghost who has manifested attacks with a magic+1 ghost touch weapon, does it ignore an opponent's physical armor?
For reference - I'm reading Monster Manual 3 pp 117-118: "A manifested ghost can pass through solid objects at will, and its own attacks pass through armor." and later "A weapon of +1 or beter magical enhancement, however, can harm material creatures when the ghost manifests, but any such attack has a 50% chance to fail unless the weapon is a ghost touch weapon."
I'm hoping this is a simple yes and I'm just being stupid, but it seems contradictory to me for the ghost touch weapon to ignore armor (presumably by becoming incorporeal) and then injure the opponent (by becoming corporeal again?). My apologies if this has been asked before - new to the forum, searched around, and couldn't find an answer.
I take a Ranger Substitution Level 2, swapping out combat style for something else, meaning I don't get to choose Two-Weapon Fighting or Rapid Shot. When I reach level 6 I take a normal Ranger Level. Do I get a choice between Improved Two-Weapon Fighting and Manyshot or Two-Weapon Fighting or Rapid Shot? In other words, does the first stage of Combat Style now start at level 6 or can I skip on to the next one?
__________________ "They couldn't know that the points from the mainline to the siding were frozen, and the signal should have been set at 'DANGER', but snow had forced it down."
- The Flying Kipper
Pixar Fanboy of the Hinjo Fanclub
Originally Posted by Hallavast
Ya know? I think I'd about kill Rowling if she wasn't holding me hostage with that last book of hers...
Can the Talontar Blightlord PrC's 10th lvl ability to become a plant (Unapproachable East 34) be used with the Arcane Hierophant PrC's 6th lvl ability to deliver spells from plants (Races of the Wild 108)?
Blightlord's text says "her type changes to 'plant'", and Hierophant's text says "conduit between yourself and a natural, nonanimated plant (but not creatures of the plant type)". I'm not sure about how the differences between type: plant, type: creature (plant subtype), and type: plant (but really a creature) work from the wording of the two classes.
If Blightlord's class ability doesn't work, is there another way to play a plant character that Hierophant will work with? (template, class, wildshape, something?)
A ghost touch weapon deals damage normally against incorporeal creatures, regardless of its bonus. (An incorporeal creature’s 50% chance to avoid damage does not apply to attacks with ghost touch weapons.) The weapon can be picked up and moved by an incorporeal creature at any time. A manifesting ghost can wield the weapon against corporeal foes. Essentially, a ghost touch weapon counts as either corporeal or incorporeal at any given time, whichever is more beneficial to the wielder.