Originally Posted by Altair_the_Vexed
* What is it about the portable hole and bag of holding that makes them incompatible, while there isn't any note about holes inside holes or bags inside bags?
Originally Posted by jiriku
As for why there's no rule against putting a bag inside another bag, I suppose it's probably because it just didn't occur to the original 1st edition designers, and sometimes these things just get passed down from edition to edition like that.
In fact, it did
occur to the 1e designers. Originally, any
extradimensional space put into any other extradimensional space caused terrible things to happen, but they were removed and/or ignored as editions progressed, as evidenced by the rope trick
text being a direct copy-paste from the 1e/2e version even though the rules for it were removed in 3e. The bag of holding
combo was interesting in that what happened changed based on which was put in which, so that was the most memorable of the interactions and thus was most likely kept because the designers thought it was iconic.