D&D 3e/3.5e/d20The forum for conversations specifically related to the rules and procedures of Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition, 3.5 Edition, or any fantasy game using the d20 system or a variant thereof (commercially published or not).
A209 I guess it depends on how it's used. If you make the touch attack as part of casting a spell (the freebie), then it's at full BAB.
I have no idea how touch attacks mesh with the full attack action however. If we assume that the touch effect is manifested on one specific natural weapon (i.e. the hair), then you can make a secondary attack as a touch attack normally at -5 penalty as part of the full attack action.
The rules are somewhat vague about that however. Say you cast a spell like Frostbite which has multiple charges, can you discharge it on each of your natural attacks? Nothing says you can't. But then nothing says you can either.
There's also this:
If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.
Does this mean touch with that particular hand/extremity or is it any touch? Does it discharge if a cleric tries to cast a cure spell on you?
And then a few sentences lower:
Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge.
So how exactly does this work if it always discharges even accidentally?
In any case, I think it's best to assume that you can elect when to discharge the touch attack, so if you're gonna make a touch attack with the hair as part of a full attack, make a secondary attack as normal.
Q212: A level 8 or higher monk with the Tetori archetype is engaged in a grapple. Being a tetori, she is able to make attacks of opportunity while grappling and has the grab ability. Another enemy passes through her threatened area, and the tetori makes her AoO and grabs that enemy. Is she now grappling both enemies? She has grappled both of them without using the "single limb" option of Grab; does she now have to begin doing so, or can she continue to grapple both of them as normal? If she has Combat Reflexes, can she drag in more enemies?
You're able to make multiple ranged attacks with shurikens using flurry of blows.
"a monk can make a flurry of blows as a full-attack action. When doing so he may make one additional attack using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with a special monk weapons"
Since shurikens are special monk weapons its a go. Plus flurry of blows is at its core the Two Weapon Fighting feat chain I don't see why not.
As an example, when people build a Ninja focused on sneak attacking with shurikens they tend use two weapon fighting in order to get those extra attacks. Thus if thats legal I don't see why it would be a problem for a monk to do the same with flurry of blows.
Looking at building a spellslinger, and I ran into a number of ambiguities. Does a Spellslinger use ammunition when casting through their gun? If not, does the spell use the gun's range or the spell's normal range (for non-cone spells, obviously)? Additionally, does a spell fired through the gun use the weapon's critical range (not multiplier, which is explicitly set separately)?
A213 A spellslinger can fire either a bullet or a spell but not both at the same time. The range of the gun also has no effect on the range of the spell fired through it, only the crit multiplier is affected if a single firearm is chosen.
This really should have been a magus archetype if you ask me...
Originally Posted by BlackHumor
Keneth: I would guess the logic is you can't carry a rider and also a load at the same time?
I'm not seeing any logic here unless a creature only counts as a mount when there's an actual rider on its back. If that's the case then it kinda makes sense, although just barely.
Yes. RAW says a launcher can impart certain specifically delineated special abilities on its ammunition, but makes no mention of displacing the ammunition's own special abilities (aside from the specific example of enhancement bonus, which doesn't stack).
However, it's not clear by RAW what happens if that stacking results in a total enhancement bonus over +10 (which is expressly prohibited).
Q 217 Are there still no psionics in PF? I could have sworn I saw a post recently cite to an Ultiimate Psionics book, but I don't find any psi in the PFSRD or any such book in the Paizo online catalog.
Here. It's third party, but it's pretty good. I've only used the Soulknife, but it was certainly a vast improvement over it's 3.5 counterpart.
Originally Posted by Wyntonian
Look down. Now up. I'm a rune. What kind of rune? Over there. It's the wizard you stole this spellbook from. Look back. I'm smoking. Look at your party members. Their bacon this morning smelled like the burnt thief you're about to smell like. Back at me. I'm exploding. Look down. It's Baator. Look up. It's Celestia. I'm on a Phantom Steed.
Rules for psionics in Pathfinder are available through 3rd party publisher Dreamscarred Press. They can be found in the PFSRD near the bottom right of the homepage. They enjoy a high reputation, so don't be frightened off by their 3rd party status.
What do the rules say about carrying another creature while flying? And i'm not talking about on the back, but by claws or a beak or something similar.
Are the rules the same as for inanimate objects, or are grapple checks involved? And is there a difference for voluntary and involuntary creatures?
A218 This was actually my question as well but I couldn't find any explicit rules on the matter. The Fly spell and Flight psionic power both limit the weight to the maximum load plus any armor worn but it's not exactly the same as "natural" flight, I suppose. Falling back on the rules for carrying capacity, I would say a creature can move at its base speed reduced by the load with up to its maximum capacity (as was said above).
Carrying an unwilling creature would involve a grapple check every round and, if successful, allow you to move up to half your speed as per grapple rules. Carrying willing creatures or inanimate objects doesn't require any checks as far as I know (except for fly checks penalized by the load).
I actually haven't been able to find the rule that limits a (flying) mount to a light load. Perhaps it only applies to mounted combat.
I remember reading a spell somewhere that causes a gaping pit to open up to the elemental planes but I can't remember what it's called. I feel like it was called 'hellmouth' or something similar. Does this sound familiar to anyone? It might have been 3.5 but I'm not sure.