D&D 3e/3.5e/d20The forum for conversations specifically related to the rules and procedures of Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition, 3.5 Edition, or any fantasy game using the d20 system or a variant thereof (commercially published or not).
While grapple seems to lack the rule for size restrictions most combat maneuvers have, the grap special ability, whom most feats and features about size apply to, can only be used against targets of a size equal to or smaller than the creature with this ability.
Also there is the size bonus to CMB and CMD.
Psicrystals don't exist in RAW Pathfinder. They may appear in a 3rd party product, such as the well-received psionics material from (I believe) Dreamscarred Press. As such, this question isn't an appropriate topic for this thread.
(And if, by chance, you accidentally posted in the Pathfinder Q&A instead of the 3.5 Q&A, you can find the 3.5 thread >>here<<
There are a few rules governing trait selection. To begin with, your GM controls how many bonus traits a PC begins with; the default assumption is two traits. When selecting traits, you may not select more than one from the same list of traits (the four basic traits each count as a separate list for this purpose). Certain types of traits may have additional requirements, as detailed in the section above.
Both Hedge Magician and Eldritch Smith are Magic Traits; one simply also requires you to be a dwarf.
Even if you could have both, trait bonuses generally do not stack; you can not get +2 Initiative from Reactionary(A Combat trait) and another +2 from Old Warrior(A Racial trait), for example.
A288 I don't know if this is a RAW Question but I would say that this depends on what bard you are playing. It Can be Dexterity, Strength, Wisdom, Intelligence, Constitution.
Example: Lich Bards wouldn't need Constitution.
The 'ol Dervish Dancer =P
Playing a Pathfinder Society game and it says Tier 1-2 & 4-5 (Mists of Mwangi). I can't seem to find info on what the Tiers are and was wondering if they correspond to the class tiers or something else.
Pathfinder Society tiers are a strict reference to level. To increase the number of potential players, many adventures have multiple level tiers, each with a different set of challenges for the players.
Using your example, Mists of Mwangi would have two sets of challenges: One for a party with an average level of 1-2, and one set for a party with an average level of 4-5. If a group averages out at level 3, they can either play up(taking the 4-5 challenges) or play down(taking the 1-2 challenges), earning the appropriate rewards depending on which they played.
A290 There's nothing that says that you can't. Of course generally there's no good reason for you to do so since the blade's inherent bonus + the magi's ability to enhance the weapon with their arcane pool should put you far ahead of everyone else. The price for upgrading the weapon is also standard, so if you're gonna add abilities, it might be prudent if you were to do so before its enhancement bonus gets too high.
Q291 If you use alter self to change your form to a different race, do you have to make a Disguise check to actually appear as a member of that race or is it automatic?
Q292 If you polymorph into a different creature, does a ranger with your creature type as their favored enemy still get a bonus against you?
A291 Polymorph magic in general provides you a +20 Disguise check to appear as whatever you're attempting to be, which you make when you take its form. So, in a way, it's automatic but the Disguise check only matters if others are suspicious that you aren't what you seem to be. Or if you fail the Disguise check that bad that you look malformed.
A292 Polymorph magic doesn't change your type, so a Ranger would still get to apply Favored Enemy bonuses to you if he has the appropriate one. They're trained to know how your type moves and acts, so they're better equipped to pick up on tricks if you act suspiciously.
Q293 What's the range increment of a lasso (APG)?
Rule of Cool Contributor and Goon
Q291+ It's just that for most polymorph spells you don't have to roll a Disguise check to appear authentic (or rather you can't as part of a spell) since you always look like an average specimen of that race. And Disguise is only superficial appearance so you don't have to make the check for behaviour (that would be Bluff or something). So where exactly does the Disguise check come into effect? Is there always a discernible flaw in the form when polymorphing so that a creature with a high Perception check can pick up on it? As far as I can tell, the only reason one would ever roll a Disguise check when polymorphed, is when trying to impersonate a specific member of that species (or changing some other aspect that the polymorph spells can't).
Q294 I've been wondering about this for a while. Polymorph rules say that you get a +10 bonus on Disguise skill checks, but the sidebar on d20pfsrd.com next to the description of Polymorph (spell) says that you get a +20 bonus to the skill check. What am I missing?
A293 Since there's no range listed, I'm guessing it has no range and no range increment, though it does seem kinda odd.
A291+ As I said, the Disguise part only matters if you act of character for what you are that people get suspicious and look at you more carefully. You look average for what you're attempting but Disguise isn't just looks, it's being able to act as what you're emulating.
Q293+ The line about it acting like a net makes me think it's supposed to have the net's 10' increment as well, I'm just not sure. I was just wondering if someone had come across some unofficial fix on that front, but it appears not.
A294 Disguise's text is just giving the general case for magically assisting your disguise. It also says to check individual spell descriptions and descriptors, which the polymorph subschool is and takes precedence of, meaning you get +20 instead. That's my supposition, though poor editing between effects and skills has reared its head before (Fixing objects in the Craft skill and fixing in the text of the Broken condition) and I'm not really surprised its raised once again.
Rule of Cool Contributor and Goon
Q296: A whip is a one-handed weapon, with reach. Does that mean I can make magus spellstrike attacks with reach I If channel them through it?
Q297: The phalanx fighter archetype lets you wield spears in one hand, while the skrininr archetype lets you use spell-combat while holding a shield. Can I make a spellstrike though that spear, with reach?
Q299: Can I make reach attack through an ally's square to get the guy standing on the other side of him?
Q299: Finally: If I have the aberrant bloodline's "long limbs' feature, through sorcerer levels or eldritch bloodline, does that mean I can spellstrike with the additional reach given for touch attacks?