D&D 3e/3.5e/d20The forum for conversations specifically related to the rules and procedures of Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition, 3.5 Edition, or any fantasy game using the d20 system or a variant thereof (commercially published or not).
Q 55: I'm confused by the entry on Bucklers. It saus I can use a bow without penalty whole carrying a buckler. Do I also get any AC bonuses from my buckler on the round I fire my bow?
I don't see bows mentioned specifically, but according to the srd, if you have a buckler in your offhand while wielding an offhand weapon *or* if you use that off-hand to wield a two handed weapon, then you take a -1 to attacks and lose the AC bonus when attacking.
Q56: How much higher than your opponent do you need to be to get the higher ground bonus to attack rolls?
Well, I wasn't able to find anything specific about it. However, seeing as it only affects melee attacks and not ranged ones, I'd say that a foot should be enough.
Let's kill the catgirl a bit, but a 1 foot advantage is already enough that, supposing that both attacker and defender have about the same heigh, attacker can now easily strike defender's head and it'll be considerably harder for defender to defend himself.
Going higher shouldn't change much, but if you go high enough (defender's height), defender ends up flatfooted since he can no longer see you.
A55 IMO the wording in the buckler entry is pretty clear. You will not receive a penalty to your attack rolls while using a bow or a crossbow when wearing a buckler. However, the general rule that you will not gain the benefits of the buckler while attacking with you off-hand or a two-handed weapon still applies.
So, no penalties and no benefits
A56 There is nothing that specifies how much higher, in feet and inches, you need to be to to gain a height advantage over an enemy, so basically it is the DM's call to decide whether your relative position to your target should net you an advantage.
Last edited by Lord Bingo : 10-13-2011 at 06:18 PM.
Q058: The druid get an spell at Lvl-4, Ice Storm, which is a cilinder, with a range... well, 400+40*Druid Level, 20 Ft radius and 40 Ft. Height.
Altough it deals its 5d6 damage once, it looks to me an exageration, for a divine spell, so much damage and an outrageous long cilinder, then I think:
It's a cilinder, and the 20ft radius base must in the floor, or it's a proyection, and the base can be vertical, and proyect the cilinder, like the Parasite Eve game?
Q59: Question concerning wild shape and the beast shape spells:
The entries for the different beast shape spells say something about all kinds of speed, but do not mention the basic land speed, and i also did not find any reference to that in any polymorph entry. Do the beast shape spells give you the basic land speed of the animal you turn into, or is it also limited to 30/60/90/120 like the progression of the spells, or do you even keep your own basic land speed?
i probably missed the rule entry where that is cleared up, can anyone point me to it?
Q60: Do feats that give attacks stack? Say, as an example, the cleave feat that gives an extra attack to adjacent enemy if it hits and another feat that allows an extra attack against adjacent if the enemy targeted dies. Do both feats activate if the attacked enemy dies?
An answer can't be provided, as it would depend entirely on the wording of both feats. If you have a specific combo in mind, please repost with that, rather than one "real" feat and one hypothetical feat.
John Ling Frog God Games Lead Pathfinder Developer
Note: unless explicitly stated otherwise, opinions in my posts are my own and not those of Frog God Games.
Can an oracle with the Deaf Curse take the trait Magical Lineage, choosing a level one spell with a verbal component (for this example, the spell Command,) and cast the level 1 spell as if they were modified by the Silent Spell feat in order to turn it into a level 0 spell? (And thus consume no spell slots?)
Pick one spell when you choose this trait. When you apply metamagic feats to this spell, treat its actual level as 1 lower for determining the spellís final adjusted level.
Originally Posted by PFSRD - Deaf Curse
You cast all of your spells as if they were modified by the Silent Spell feat
As it is written, for Magical Lineage to reduce a spell's level, it must have a metamagic feat applied to it. The benefit of the Deaf Curse isn't applying the Silent Spell feat to the Oracle's spells, it is just giving the benefit of the feat to the spells for free, so Magical Lineage would not apply in the example you gave.
Is a monk's increased damage on their unarmed strikes considered an effect that augments unarmed strikes for the Feral Combat Training feat? Specifically, could a Monk/Druid take Feral Combat Training (bite) and use its normal unarmed strike damage on its bite attacks when wild shaped into a wolf?
So a NPC caster (with his two bodyguards) was talking with group of adventurers -- they are standing 20-30' feet apart (the PCs are spread out in camp, the caster is 20' from the closest one). The NPC gleams some information he needs from party, then decides that it is time for them to die, so casts a fireball. Does this constitute a surprise round and the NPC is assumed to get his cast off before the party can react, or should initiative be rolled right away?
Thanks for the help!
Celestial Tree Sloth Attack!
Last edited by evillemming : 10-21-2011 at 09:08 AM.
A63: Hard to answer this by RAW, it depends mostly on how the GM decides to have the NPCs act before combat breaks out. If they are keeping an eye on the character to see if he does anything funny, it would be regular Initiative rolls for everyone. If they are not suspecting anything and the characters casting is what triggers them to start feeling threatened, than I think the character should get a suprise round, as the character who wins Initiative does so as a reaction to the PCs casting.
A Bluff check by the attacker might be a good solution to solve this. If his Bluff check is higher than the characters Sense Motive checks, he catches them completely by surprise and gets the suprise round. If he fails than some of the PCs see that he is about to cast a spell.
__________________ Spriggan's Den - Thoughts on RPGs and some of my personal creations. Ancient Lands - PF/d20 Sword & Sorcery campaign setting
A bastard sword is about 4 feet in length, making it too large to use in one hand without special training; thus, it is an exotic weapon. A character can use a bastard sword two-handed as a martial weapon.