Originally Posted by Hamiltonz
The rule is: white background score only once, blue score every time the condition is met.
This is backwards, and it's more complicated than that anyway. There seems to be some confusion about this, so let me try to explain.
The cards and rulesheet use the phrase "reveal and score" to describe what to do for a reason: these are two separate steps.
- Revealing a Backstory is the act of flipping it over and announcing that you have completed it. You may only reveal each Backstory card once.
- Scoring a Backstory is the act of adding the printed point number indicated to your Bragging Points. Some cards allow you to score them more than once at the moment that you reveal them.
Now, there are also two times you can reveal-and-score Backstory cards: at the End of a Turn, or at the End of the Game.
- Cards revealed at the End of Turn only score points for the events of that turn. They cannot score points for prior or future turns.
- Cards revealed at the End of Game only score points for your status at that moment. They cannot score points for situations that occurred in the middle of the game but are not true at the end, such as if you once held certain Loot cards but no longer do.
Effectively, the cards have no "memory" and can only reflect the immediate past or the end results.
Finally, cards are also divided up based on whether the number of points that can be scored is fixed or variable:
- Blue background cards score a fixed number of points. Those points do not change, except for the specific "Doubled" circumstances listed on some of those. Those special circumstances must be true on the turn that the card is revealed in order to apply; they cannot "remember" things that happened more than one turn ago.
- White background cards score a variable number of points, where the total score is equal to the number printed multiplied by the number of times you have achieved the circumstance at the time that the card is revealed.
Note that ALL white background cards are also End of Game cards, so that part is largely redundant. There can be only one End of Game, after all. However, I included it just there to make things as explicit as possible.
The important part is this: You cannot earn additional points from an End of Turn Backstory that has already been revealed and scored on an earlier turn.
All cards can only be revealed one time, and at that time, they are scored as many times as required. The moment that you reveal the Backstory card and claim its points is the only time you can get any points from it; all that is in question is how many
points you get.
You may, if you wish, hold off on scoring a End of Turn Backstory in the hopes that you will have a more advantageous turn later that would net you more points. For example, if you were holding Kicks You While You're Down
, and a player loses a Wound during a turn in which you played a Screw This! card, you might hold off scoring because you want to try to get the "Doubled" condition (losing their last Wound and fleeing the dungeon). But if you waited, you would then lose credit for the current opportunity for scoring. Likewise, if you scored now, and then later did
fulfill the Doubled condition, you don't get more points. You revealed and scored the card, it's done.
With that explained, I am going to tentatively say that there are no misprints in the cards, just a misunderstanding of the meaning. Though understand that I don't have the deck in front of me (I'm looking at the final files on my computer).
EDIT: Changed around a bit for clarity.