New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

Default Help with an Artificer

I have some experience playing 3.5, and am planning on picking up an artificer.
    I'll be jumping in at level 5, and in order to clear things with the DM, I was wondering what the typical level 5 artificer might have in terms of hommunculi and items etc.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground

Chimera

Default Re: Help with an Artificer

It really depends on how you're building your artificer and how much wealth your DM gives out but as a generic example as a wandaficer something like this would be reasonable especially if you have cost reducing feats.

Assuming 9,000gp starting gold

A dedicated wright 2,100gp
    A decent collection of utility scrolls - varies
    A metamagic wand grip - 3000gp
    Custom item to increase UMD +5 - 2,500gp
    +1 heavy crossbow - 1,175gp

That'd put you at $8,775 minus the scrolls but again it's doable with a little cost reduction.
    "The icy cold fingers of reason have choked the life out of this thread and despite all logic it keeps squirming", nope, it's dead.

"Occasionally I'd just like someone to quote me in their signature"
    -Invader

Epic threads with awesome revelations.

Awesome Avatar by Kymme!

3. - Top - End - #3
    Orc in the Playground

I love Artificers, but I can't find the time to play one.

They are truly the most complex characters in D&D (second to Psionic Artificers)

Here's some things to help you get started:
    The Unofficial Artificer's Player's Guide 3.0
    The Complete Cost Reduction Handbook
    Complete MacGuyver

There's a lot of guides out there if you look for them, because there is no straightforward way to play an Artificer. You can either convert money into damage, convert money into more money, or buy the class features you want.
    The Giantitp Drinking Game!