New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground

ClericGuy

Default Generic Help for a GM

I'm beginning to plan a large Space Opera style campaign, but one thing I want to particularly focus on is the fear of being lost in space, (I haven't decided what system yet, I'm just beginning to put the bare bones of the story together) and I was wondering how, as a GM you'd build the tension for dealing with this sort of issue, over several sessions?

My initial plan is that the party is asleep on the ship, which is on autopilot for the evening, flying them to their destination with various supplies. A milk run basically, but while they are all asleep they are pulled of course and end up in a completely unknown and uncharted part of space, with the ship somewhat damaged. They awaken a few days later (males will have some facial hair where none was before and all very hungry) and they awaken to red lights flashing, but no sounding alarms.

How else could I ramp up the tension that this PCs may very well die in the cold vacuum of space if they don't be careful?

The overall story will build begin as an exploratory/survival game, once they find their way to a planet, it'll turn into a survival horror while they try to put the ship back together to fly away, and once they get back to civilisation it will morph into a sort of Star Trek TNG Borg Arc, where the PCs have attracted the attention of SOMETHING (the same SOMETHING that was stalking them on the planet they ended up on) which turns out is part of a much larger system, (perhaps something akin to Tyranids in 40K) that now it knows there is more tasty creatures, it's come to get them.