New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Titan in the Playground

OldWizardGuy

Default For Honor = Mat Patt vs The World

Shadiversity, Metatron, Skallagrim debunks Matt Patt's "Samurai Wins" argument about 11th century warfare between Samurai, Knights and Vikings.

Matt Patt, Vikings wore chain mail. I know this. I am not a Medieval Expert.
    Matt Patt, Viking weapons were nowhere near garbage. They were high quality. Matt Patt, Ulfbehrt swords were superior than just about any swords that were available in the age of swords, bows and spears, Viking weapons were not garbage.
    Matt Patt, Vikings had shields.

Matt Patt, Knights had shields.
    Matt Patt, Knights had gambison armors and leather to compliment their chain mail.
    Matt Patt, Vikings were not incompetent warriors who just barely knew how to use a sword.

Vikings often fought people who "knew what they were doing".

Matt Patt, you are confusing Picts with Vikings. Picts fought naked, sometimes. Vikings did not fight naked. They lived in cold climates with unforgiving winters. Why would they fight naked?

2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground

Default Re: For Honor = Mat Patt vs The World

Eh. To be fair here. Vikings were recorded going into battle shirtless.

The poor guys. Who couldn't afford equipment.

Also. Fun game. Not historically accurate at all. But fun.
    Last edited by Dienekes; 2017-02-11 at 10:19 AM.

3. - Top - End - #3
    Titan in the Playground

OldWizardGuy

I'm sure not all Picts went into battle naked either, but the point is, the Vikings had armor.

4. - Top - End - #4
    Dwarf in the Playground

BlackDragon

I think there's also a few problems with how he portrays how these ancient warriors would have fought one another. There's one specific part where, just to prove his point about Vikings, the samurai "shoots him in the back".