New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground

Default Let's Play Pokemon Crystal!

I’ve been inspired to try a Let’s Play of Pokemon Crystal because of others I’ve seen here. I’ve never done a Let’s Play before, and I’d like a chance to stretch my creative and writing muscles. So please bear with me if things are a little rocky or unpolished at first. Any suggestions or critique is welcome.

I have chosen Pokemon Crystal for several reasons. The second generation has always been my favorite iteration of the games. I remember being so excited when I got both Red and Blue for my 13th birthday, and playing them extensively. In fact I was the first kid at my school to collect all 150 (and I still have that save game on my original cartridge of Blue). Then, when Gold and Silver came out, the new pokemon and types were fascinating and pulled me back in. But what cemented my love for this generation was completing Jhoto, and then discovering that I could return to Kanto, my old stomping grounds, and stomp around all over again. I loved it. And I never got a chance to play Crystal, so it seems the perfect choice.

As I’m sure you’re expecting, this will be using a Nuzlockesque rule set to make the game more interesting and challenging.
    1. If a pokemon faints, it’s dead. It must be released into the wild.
    2. I may only capture the first new pokemon I encounter in any given area.
      • If it faints, flees, or I am otherwise unable to catch it, I get no pokemon from that area.
      • A pokemon is “new” if I don’t have it’s full pokedex entry.
      • Legendaries are exempt from this rule.
      • Event-based pokemon, such as fossils and trades, are exempt from this rule.
    3. Use a Set battle mode, for more “realistic” battles
    4. Each pokemon must have a nickname and a personality.