New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground

OldWizardGuy

Default First-Time Warblade/Crusader BUild

I'm working out a build for my first Tome of Battle character, and I was considering the following level progression: Warblade 7/Crusader 3/Eternal Blade 10

With 19 STR, 16 CON and CHA, and 15 DEX and INT, I feel like this is a workable build. My main concern is the balance between Warblade and Crusader levels, and the order in which I should take them. Would it make sense to take all seven Warblade levels first and then hop into Crusader to start with level 2 manoeuvres? Or is there a more effective progression?

This is my first time building a martial adept, so any advice you guys can provide would be greatly appreciated.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground

Default Re: First-Time Warblade/Crusader BUild

First question: what is your DM's position on XP penalty for multi-classing? This will have an impact on your decisions.

Second question: what is your DM's position on Half-elf qualifying as an elf for Eternal Blade? RAW half-elf does not meet the Elf prerequisite for the prestige class, but there is some debate about the matter among those who feel that RAI it should work.
    “No matter how subtle the wizard, a knife between the shoulder blades will seriously cramp his style.” ― Steven Brust
    "In God we trust. All others we investigate." - United States Army Military Police Corps
    My thanks to Komodo for the excellent Avatar.
    Check out BSR's Improved Sorcerer project.

3. - Top - End - #3
    Dwarf in the Playground

OldWizardGuy

My DM is not applying any XP penalties for multiclassing.

My DM is allowing Half-Elves to qualify for the Eternal Blade.

4. - Top - End - #4
    Ogre in the Playground

Okay, great. You should be okay with any elf or half-elf then (honestly, the half-elf only becomes preferable if the elf would take XP penalties).